Guinataan Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy and taste good! Recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
needs about 2 garlic cloves per pound cicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delish!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! Noting the many comments about this dish being oily, I used skinless chicken breasts which I cut into into pieces. I cooked for 30 minutes (others suggested longer cooking times for chicken legs, but that longer time would have dried out the breast meat). Some of the chicken broke down a bit into small "shreds," which was actually nice in the sauce! Not having whole peppercorns on hand, I used slightly less than one teaspoon of ground black pepper. I increased the onion and garlic to my personal taste and used "light" coconut milk to reduce the fat content. Do not leave out the bay leaves -- while not overpowering, they definitely add to the flavor. This was delicious and it provided generous leftovers, as there were only two of us. We served over rice, but I imagine it would be nice over pasta, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
So, this was delish. Will make it many times again. Economical too. I read so many reviews, these were my alterations: more onion, more garlic, more water, 45 minutes, not 30, (you'll see where I mean). And YES......pull the skin and toss it , AND ahhh... Coconut milk is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
i like this!! i think i will try it..i wonder if i can add some greens to make it more healthy. I noticed that on some comments, they said that it was greasy. I dont think the grease is all coming from the kitchen...it also came from the GATA which is the coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmina16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I did not like the flavor of this dish at all. I'm Filipino so I am very familiar with the taste of both adobo and Guinataan so I was very excited to try this recipe. As others stated, it was very oily, and lacked depth of flavors. I added patis (fish sauce) and it helped a little, but the overall flavor of this dish was still disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Some people said it was greasy so thinking of that and adding flavor I browned the chicken first. Drained the pan put in rest of ingredients returned chicken and cooked.It was for 2 so 2 thighs and legs half cup of wine and wine viniger extra garlic and whole can of cocnut milk. Keep temp low and do not break the milk...Add a little cornstarch just before serving to thickien a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This did not taste like the Ginataan I am used to. Definately lacking flavor so I added some sliced jalapeno peppers and patis. Boyfriend liked it- but he's like Mikey, he'll eat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States