Guava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I love this cake..it's soooo tasty and can be eaten without a sauce or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesangel05
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very subtle Guava flavor. I used fresh over-ripe yellow guava shells, pureed with a little bit of pear and water to help it along. I increased the amount of guava by about 1/2 cup, used a square 9x9 pan, and baked it for 50 minutes, reducing the temperature 1/2 way to account for the extra guava and smaller pan. It came out perfectly moist. I would eliminate the spices next time, to see if it brings more of the Guava flavor. But it's really good, and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesangel05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. My 5 guava trees are keeping us busy. I scoop out the guava pulp, mush it and boil in some water on the stovetop; I haven't added the store bought guava ingredients, just using our "locally sourced" guavas. I haven't figured out how to get rid of all the little seeds but they don't seem to bother anyone in my family. I also baked it in a loaf pan for a bit longer than specified here - just using a knife in the cent to know that it's done. Tasty, tasty, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
love it is so moist . i added a dulce de leche filling ...yumyyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
this was really easy to make & allowed me to use some of my excess guavas. my boyfriend ate some of it plain and a dinner guest tried it with with whipped cream & sliced guavas. no one loved it- but they ate it and said it was good. i didn't like the cake itself, so didn't want to spend too much time trying to create an icing/glaze- as i have a lot more guava to process so am going to look for a different cake recipe. but it was incredibly easy to make so i am giving it 3 stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was good as a bread, not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goody2shoes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I live in Africa and its guava season. Didnt know what to do with my ripe guavas so I googled guava recipes and it brought me to your site. The cake came out fluffy, sweet and guavalicious, I put a drop of lemon essence to add flavour. Im gonna ask my neighbour if I can use some of his guavas to make another cake tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
It was pretty good. If you are using fresh guava, make sure you get all the seeds out. It's annoying to bite into a seed. I made some frosting with guava nectar because the cake doesn't taste much like guava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
A must try recipe...I made it using pink guava pulp that gave it a good flavor and colour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This cake was great! My guavas were not bursting ripe so they didn't have as much flavor and as a result the guava flavor was really light. It tasted very nutmeggy and clovey. I made a cream cheese guava icing that everyone else said they tasted the guava in, but not so much the cake. However it tasted yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States