Guava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I love this cake..it's soooo tasty and can be eaten without a sauce or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesangel05
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very subtle Guava flavor. I used fresh over-ripe yellow guava shells, pureed with a little bit of pear and water to help it along. I increased the amount of guava by about 1/2 cup, used a square 9x9 pan, and baked it for 50 minutes, reducing the temperature 1/2 way to account for the extra guava and smaller pan. It came out perfectly moist. I would eliminate the spices next time, to see if it brings more of the Guava flavor. But it's really good, and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesangel05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. My 5 guava trees are keeping us busy. I scoop out the guava pulp, mush it and boil in some water on the stovetop; I haven't added the store bought guava ingredients, just using our "locally sourced" guavas. I haven't figured out how to get rid of all the little seeds but they don't seem to bother anyone in my family. I also baked it in a loaf pan for a bit longer than specified here - just using a knife in the cent to know that it's done. Tasty, tasty, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
love it is so moist . i added a dulce de leche filling ...yumyyyyyyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
this was really easy to make & allowed me to use some of my excess guavas. my boyfriend ate some of it plain and a dinner guest tried it with with whipped cream & sliced guavas. no one loved it- but they ate it and said it was good. i didn't like the cake itself, so didn't want to spend too much time trying to create an icing/glaze- as i have a lot more guava to process so am going to look for a different cake recipe. but it was incredibly easy to make so i am giving it 3 stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was good as a bread, not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goody2shoes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I live in Africa and its guava season. Didnt know what to do with my ripe guavas so I googled guava recipes and it brought me to your site. The cake came out fluffy, sweet and guavalicious, I put a drop of lemon essence to add flavour. Im gonna ask my neighbour if I can use some of his guavas to make another cake tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
It was pretty good. If you are using fresh guava, make sure you get all the seeds out. It's annoying to bite into a seed. I made some frosting with guava nectar because the cake doesn't taste much like guava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
A must try recipe...I made it using pink guava pulp that gave it a good flavor and colour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This cake was great! My guavas were not bursting ripe so they didn't have as much flavor and as a result the guava flavor was really light. It tasted very nutmeggy and clovey. I made a cream cheese guava icing that everyone else said they tasted the guava in, but not so much the cake. However it tasted yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States