Guadalupe River Bottom Puddin' Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is a fabulous, rich, decadent dessert that has been a family favorite for years. True, it isn't a "cake" with batter but I'm not sure what else you'd call it, with its rich chocolate and cream cheese layers on a yummy shortbread crust. At any rate, my one tip is that I don't add the decorative chocolate shavings until it's time to serve because after a while they bleed and stain the whipped cream and don't look as nice. Otherwise, an easy can't-miss hit for every occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I know I followed the directions exactly and I have reviewed the recipe multiple times. That being said, this was the worst cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Tasted great... not exactly the taste i remember from my friends pudding cake, but it will do for now until i find her recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2angels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
cant go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Fabulous, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Amazing recipe. Came out well.I used "mixed nuts topping" instead for the walnut crust.Thanks LKennon for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
so very delicious but it has lots of steps. not a quick dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
My parents made this when I was little and now I make this for my family. We also have made it with graham cracker crust and banana pudding for banana cream dessert and have made oreo dessert out of it by making an oreo crust with 1 lb of oreos, crushed and 1/4 c margarine, melted.Press into bottom of pan and let sit until cool before you add other layers. They make good no bake options. It also helps to cool all layers completely before adding next layer. We sometimes stick it in the freezer to speed it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAREC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
A big hit for Father's Day, but I really could not taste the cream cheese layer. Next time I will double that layer only. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLee16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greentown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
There was just nothing special about this. It was more like just eating chocolate pudding with whipped cream, not like a cake at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States