Guadalajara Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Great soup!!! Takes a little time to make but well worth it. Thank's Donald
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe is awesome, but instead of using beef broth I used two cans of diced tomatoes and used two buillon chicken cubes. I also used two cans of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Great in its simplicity, just as it is! Any cut of cubed, browned pork works well, and with a little queso fresco on top of your bowl of soup and a slice of warm cornbread (our not so mexican contribution!) this is a good cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I loved it!!! It was easy to prepare from ingredients I already had on hand. I added a little extra spice since I added some black beans to it. Sprinkle some mexican cheese on top when served...yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent!! I used pork chops instead of ribs, that was what I had on hand. Still excellent!! I served with Queso Fresco, lemon wedges, sour cream, chopped cilantro, chopped green onions and tortillas. Great meal just like in Mexico!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is very good soup. My husband is Mexican and I'm always looking for things he would like. He loved it. This recipe will be used all the time. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Wow! Was this soup good! I wouldn't change a thing. My husband likes a lot of veggies, so he added peas and Lima beans to his. But I absolutely loved this soup as is. Best the second day, but after that the tastes are a little too mingled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reba H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We had about 4 pounds of spareribs to use up. I followed the recipe all the way up to the cilantro because I didn't have any around. We still simmered the mixture for the full 90 minutes despite that our spareribs were already cooked. I added the beans later instead of cooking them for 60 minutes, then cooking the rest of the mixture for another 90 minutes. We added the beans with another 30 minutes to go on the mixture and it tasted fine. We topped everything with homemade cornbread, salsa, queso fresco and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I wasn't completely sold on this after it got done cooking, so I did have to doctor it after the fact. But I think most people would find this amount of spice agreeable -- we just like a lot more spices. I did use cubed boneless pork chops in place of the spareribs (and was able to skip the chilling & fat-skimming steps because of that) but I don't think spare ribs would have added to my enjoyment, since I don't like them anyway. I really liked cooking the cilantro in the soup -- I probably used more than 1/4 cup but whatever I did, it really permeated the broth, which was nice. Thank you for sharing your recipe, I'm pretty sure I'll use this again. (This made 9.5 cups of soup for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used ham and a lot more cilantro than the recipe called for but only due to personal preference. This was a very satisfying soup but I do think toppers are a must to bring out all of the flavors. I might even try some lime next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States