Guadalajara Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was very yummy. I doubled the recipe but did everything else as written, only added a bit more salt. Very enjoyable, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Yum! I love experimenting with new recipes, and this is one of the best ever. I used pork chops, which I browned and boned, then added to soup. We topped our soup bowls with sour cream, diced tomatoes, grated cheese, and cilantro. Wonderfully satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used ham and a lot more cilantro than the recipe called for but only due to personal preference. This was a very satisfying soup but I do think toppers are a must to bring out all of the flavors. I might even try some lime next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I wasn't completely sold on this after it got done cooking, so I did have to doctor it after the fact. But I think most people would find this amount of spice agreeable -- we just like a lot more spices. I did use cubed boneless pork chops in place of the spareribs (and was able to skip the chilling & fat-skimming steps because of that) but I don't think spare ribs would have added to my enjoyment, since I don't like them anyway. I really liked cooking the cilantro in the soup -- I probably used more than 1/4 cup but whatever I did, it really permeated the broth, which was nice. Thank you for sharing your recipe, I'm pretty sure I'll use this again. (This made 9.5 cups of soup for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
We had about 4 pounds of spareribs to use up. I followed the recipe all the way up to the cilantro because I didn't have any around. We still simmered the mixture for the full 90 minutes despite that our spareribs were already cooked. I added the beans later instead of cooking them for 60 minutes, then cooking the rest of the mixture for another 90 minutes. We added the beans with another 30 minutes to go on the mixture and it tasted fine. We topped everything with homemade cornbread, salsa, queso fresco and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Wow! Was this soup good! I wouldn't change a thing. My husband likes a lot of veggies, so he added peas and Lima beans to his. But I absolutely loved this soup as is. Best the second day, but after that the tastes are a little too mingled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is very good soup. My husband is Mexican and I'm always looking for things he would like. He loved it. This recipe will be used all the time. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent!! I used pork chops instead of ribs, that was what I had on hand. Still excellent!! I served with Queso Fresco, lemon wedges, sour cream, chopped cilantro, chopped green onions and tortillas. Great meal just like in Mexico!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I loved it!!! It was easy to prepare from ingredients I already had on hand. I added a little extra spice since I added some black beans to it. Sprinkle some mexican cheese on top when served...yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States