Guaco-Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Fantastic summer tacos. I added seasoning to the beans (I used black), which included cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, salt and black pepper. I also added a bit of lime to the salsa mixture with salt. Tyler Florence's guacamole recipe was fantastic with these. Green onions and lettuce were served to top these off. The easiest and freshest tacos that I have made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
These were very good, and easy. You can warm tortillas in the microwave if you don't want to heat the oven (wrap in wet paper towel first). I used black beans, did not rinse them, warmed them on the stove, then mashed them a bit with a fork. If you like things spicy, add lime juice and extra jalapeno and garlic to the salsa, and add spices to the beans (I used cumin, garlic, chipotle powder, and red pepper) ... but if you like things less spicy the original recipe would be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These are good stuff though I made a few changes. Made them in less than 30 mins when I got home from work. I added some salt and sugar to the salsa and some tomatos and cilantro to the quac. To entice the family I mixed refried beans with black beans and spread the flours with some nacho cheese and stuffed a corn hard taco shell in it then added the beans and such. Very good stuff everyone enjoyed them and didn't miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was going to be a yummy easy meatless meal but I was disappointed. It was easy enough but not that yummy. I added garlic and lime juice to the avocado to make it more guac-like, but it was still really bland. I've now read reviews where the cooks added a lot of seasoning to the beans, and they're right, the beans need it. These were also pretty difficult to pick up and eat. 30 seconds into dinner, I had a mess of fallen out black beans around me. I had to fold them kind of burrito style to eat. Hard taco shells would be much easier. I may try this again with more seasoning and some other modifications since I do like easy meatless meals, but I would not make again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
So good!!! I loved this and will make often. I only used fresh tomato, just out of preference. I think the one thing this recipe is missing is lime juice - I squeezed fresh lime juice into the salsa and the avocado mixture. The citrus really brightens the flavors and gives it the pop it needs. I used black beans instead of kidney since that's what I had on hand. Super delicious. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this one evening for my family and my vegetarian neighbor, and they are still talking about it! My husband has been begging me to make them again since, and my neighbor was in awe at how quickly I was able to prepare everything and get the table set! I put my foot down and said we're having one veggie meal a week since we're all steak eaters and we know how the economy is right now. Not one of us was still hungry afterwards or complained about there not being any meat in the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcash11282008

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were fabulous and filling! I cheated and bought a Mrs. Renfro's salsa, but I still mixed in tomatoes, cilantro, and onion. I also just mixed everything together so that the avacados would not brown since we didn't eat all of it right away. I put it on a whole wheat tortilla and they were absolutely delicious! I didn't miss the meat at all. Next time I think I'll try using black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
We love this recipe. We are trying to build a collection of vegetarian meals, and this one is a keeper. I use black beans, as many people suggested. I also change things up depending on what I have on hand, for example I'll use regular tomatoes instead of roma tomatoes, or skip the cilantro. It's always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is almost exactly how I have made tacos before. I love guacamole(some of us do live in areas where decent avocados are available year round).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was great! I didn't use jalapeno (didn't have any on hand) and it still turned out excellent. When I made this a second time (still omitting jalepeno) I included taco-seasoned ground turkey in the taco. It was more hearty and even better than it was the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States