Guaco-Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were fabulous and filling! I cheated and bought a Mrs. Renfro's salsa, but I still mixed in tomatoes, cilantro, and onion. I also just mixed everything together so that the avacados would not brown since we didn't eat all of it right away. I put it on a whole wheat tortilla and they were absolutely delicious! I didn't miss the meat at all. Next time I think I'll try using black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
So good!!! I loved this and will make often. I only used fresh tomato, just out of preference. I think the one thing this recipe is missing is lime juice - I squeezed fresh lime juice into the salsa and the avocado mixture. The citrus really brightens the flavors and gives it the pop it needs. I used black beans instead of kidney since that's what I had on hand. Super delicious. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A new favorite! I just put them on hard shells cause that's what we had but they are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was great! I didn't use jalapeno (didn't have any on hand) and it still turned out excellent. When I made this a second time (still omitting jalepeno) I included taco-seasoned ground turkey in the taco. It was more hearty and even better than it was the last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I JUST made these for dinner....FANTASTIC! While I was putting them together, my hubby asked where the meat was. ;) I think he was very surprised by how tasty they were and how satisfied he was at the end of the meal. I did use 505 Organic (medium) salsa instead of the homemade and used garlic pepper instead of salt/pepper in the guac. The only other change I made was using black beans instead of the kidney... since they were in the pantry and we prefer them. A definite keeper and perfect light (yet satisfying) summer meal for AZ! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeAZMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
good...I was a little let down, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I love this i would never think of having any type of tacos or Mexican food without meat but i am sold. This was great! I Added to my recipe box, and nothing less than a four star gets added. Plus no cooking for anyone who would like a quick meal after a hard days work. Very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These are good stuff though I made a few changes. Made them in less than 30 mins when I got home from work. I added some salt and sugar to the salsa and some tomatos and cilantro to the quac. To entice the family I mixed refried beans with black beans and spread the flours with some nacho cheese and stuffed a corn hard taco shell in it then added the beans and such. Very good stuff everyone enjoyed them and didn't miss the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
We love this recipe. We are trying to build a collection of vegetarian meals, and this one is a keeper. I use black beans, as many people suggested. I also change things up depending on what I have on hand, for example I'll use regular tomatoes instead of roma tomatoes, or skip the cilantro. It's always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
These were very good, and easy. You can warm tortillas in the microwave if you don't want to heat the oven (wrap in wet paper towel first). I used black beans, did not rinse them, warmed them on the stove, then mashed them a bit with a fork. If you like things spicy, add lime juice and extra jalapeno and garlic to the salsa, and add spices to the beans (I used cumin, garlic, chipotle powder, and red pepper) ... but if you like things less spicy the original recipe would be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States