Guaco-Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is a very good and nutricious meal. I made this without cilantro because it`s not in season so far. And I omitted fresh tomatoes. Delicious, will be making these tacos again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These were very easy and yummy! I added a few extra spices, and lime juice to the salsa and avacado mixture, used seasoned black beans, and served on hard taco shells. VERY EASY to prepare and my vegetarian daughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlcbrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I rated four stars for the ease of a summer meal and healthy to boot. Would have rated five stars, but the beans, salsa and guacamole certainly needed more spices, and fresh lime juice. I used both red and black beans, heated them in a microwave dish for 4.5 minutes, we didn't want cold beans on a heated tortilla. I half smashed them with a potato masher, this kept them from falling all over the place when eating them. This was very filling, we did put some shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
These were a good alternative to regular meat or chicken tacos. Added a bunch of extra flavors such as garlic, garlic powder, cumin and lime juice that others had suggested....Mixed the beans, salsa and guac all together when we were done and made it into a pretty good dip that we ate off of for a few days after with taco chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Wow... This is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Outstanding! One of our new favorites. Really easy and fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I thought this was going to be a yummy easy meatless meal but I was disappointed. It was easy enough but not that yummy. I added garlic and lime juice to the avocado to make it more guac-like, but it was still really bland. I've now read reviews where the cooks added a lot of seasoning to the beans, and they're right, the beans need it. These were also pretty difficult to pick up and eat. 30 seconds into dinner, I had a mess of fallen out black beans around me. I had to fold them kind of burrito style to eat. Hard taco shells would be much easier. I may try this again with more seasoning and some other modifications since I do like easy meatless meals, but I would not make again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were fabulous and filling! I cheated and bought a Mrs. Renfro's salsa, but I still mixed in tomatoes, cilantro, and onion. I also just mixed everything together so that the avacados would not brown since we didn't eat all of it right away. I put it on a whole wheat tortilla and they were absolutely delicious! I didn't miss the meat at all. Next time I think I'll try using black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
So good!!! I loved this and will make often. I only used fresh tomato, just out of preference. I think the one thing this recipe is missing is lime juice - I squeezed fresh lime juice into the salsa and the avocado mixture. The citrus really brightens the flavors and gives it the pop it needs. I used black beans instead of kidney since that's what I had on hand. Super delicious. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States