Guacamole Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I used guacamole that I had made a couple nights before, but I added the dijon-style mustard and egg yolks to it. I didn't add the w. sauce and I only had 3 eggs. They turned out pretty good, I think they could use some sour cream. Made a nice lil snack, might make these again if I need to use up guacamole. Thanks for the unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Ok, so first I should mention that I LOVE avocado. I mean LOOOOOOOOOOVE avocado, and am always looking for ways to add it into recipes, etc... In deviled eggs, it just doesn't work. I think the problem is that while I love avocado, I also love deviled eggs, and this certainly was nothing even close to a deviled egg. The mustard kick is lacking terribly, and the avocado (even with all the added ingredients) is simply too plain with a boiled egg white. Still planning on making it? Well here are my tips...cut the avocado amount in half and cut the lime amount in half...and even then, watch out. Luckily I only made half a dozen so I was able to save the last half and make regular deviled eggs. WAYYYYY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
followed all directions and was very hopeful but alas, we ended up stopping by the grocery on the way to pick something else up for our holiday party :( will try again with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freeinhislove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These were FANTASTIC! Made exactly as directed for a party. People were skeptical, but everyone loved them! Many asked for the recipe! Will make these again, most definitely! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I also used only 1 avocado, even though I love it. To the problem of turning brown: try Fruit Fresh in the mixture. For this amount I would use about 2 tsps. Also, before (or even during presentation) try to keep covered with plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Plain lemon juice will keep them from turning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
TIP: To keep guacamole from turning brown so quickly, sprinkle "Fruit Fresh" fruit preservative in and stir. You'll find it in the canning section of the market. Your avacado will turn brown eventually but this will help extend the green for 12 - 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
YUMMY!!!Other than tripling or tripling it twice (sixpling?) I make this exactly as written and it is a always a big hit. I share this recipe constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is weird, but Okay. To prevent them from turning brown in the refrigerator, put seran wrap over the top and make sure no air gets to the guac. Oxygen is what turns them brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Interesting Idea. I just used some of the left over guacamole instead of following the recipe. I am giving it four stars because I think although mine had a pretty good flavor but was missing something and looking over the recipe I think it would be much better if I had followed the recipe. Will try again, but I think old school deviled eggs won't be replaced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States