G's Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is a fairly good cake on the day it's made, but my, oh my, oh my - what an outstanding desert the next day! Didn't change a thing. This is a great Tres Leche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very good recipe. I made it exactly as written. Next time, I would omit the almond flavoring or reduce it to maybe a quarter teaspoon, it's just not to my taste (to much like Christmas cut out cookies). I would also cut back the sugar a little, maybe by 1/4 cup. don't worry about the liquid being too much it Will all be absorbed by the cake, in fact, it's probably more absorbed then some other tres leches cakes that I've had. the cake will be high and fluffy out of the oven, I ended up baking mine for 37 minutes the top was golden and a few cracks just starting in the middle. The cake will shrink and flatten out (becoming denser) as it cools, I ran a knife around the edges to loosen right away. Letting the cake cool will allow it to continue cooking in case the middle has any slightly gooey parts. All in all it got a thumbs up and with the changes should be a 5 star for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELLEE74
Home Town: Richfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever had! I substituted coconut milk for the evaporated milk, but otherwise made this exactly as written. Excellent summer dessert, and even better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
First time to make this. This was easy to make. I'm not crazy about almond and so I used vanilla instead and it tasted like all the other Tres Leche cakes I've had. Very, very good--sweet, dense and very moist. Made it for my sister to share at work. Turned out great!! Just sorry I didn't get a piece. It's one that I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I fell in love with this recipe. I made it for my neighbor's birthday. I did tweak it a little. I used vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I just don't care for it. For the tres leches I used 1/3 of a cup of heavy cream instead of the whole milk. I'm lactose intolerant so tasting it was a bit of a sacrifice but worth it. I will be making this again but adding some strawberries. It was the best tres leches cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I served this cake for a Dia de los Muertos fundraiser dinner and it was a big hit. I've made other recipes for Tres Leche cake but I prefer the flavor and texture of this recipe. I didn't change a thing with this recipe and I did make it two days in advance as recommended. I topped the cake with toasted coconut on top of the whipped cream topping and I'd do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Made this recipe for the first annual Tamale Day with friends...what a big hit!! Everyone wanted the recipe and there was none left. So very good and not overly sweet and perfect density. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. It may seem like a lot of liquid, but it gets absorbed into the cake very quickly. We didn't wait for the cake to cool before we poured the milk mixture on top, and it turned out beautifully. I was a little concerned because the cake rose up really high while it was cooking, but once I removed it from the oven and poked the holes into it, it fell enough so that the topping could be added. The cake turned out very moist and flavorful, but not as wet as other tres leches cakes I've had. The texture was wonderful. You can top it with toasted sliced almonds and fresh strawberries to make it extra special. It's the perfect dessert for summer and definitely better served the next day. My husband also tried it topped with coconut and with sliced bananas, and that was good too. You can really customize it to your own tastes. I like that you can bake it in a standard 13x9 inch pan. Other recipes I looked at required pan sizes that we don't have. Will definitely make this one again. Might try substituting vanilla extract for the almond next time, although the almond pairs great with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I had never heard of Tres Leches cake and this was my first time making it. I was surprised that no one else noted that the cake would be totally submerged after pouring the three-milk mixture over it. This had me worried, so I poured out a considerable amount of liquid out of the pan (1/4 of the total) before icing the cake with whipped cream and refrigerating it. It turned out dense, moist, very sweet, but very nice complexity of vanilla and other flavors. (I also replaced the almond extract with vanilla.) It's worth noting that my eggs never stiffened even after I beat them a long time, and it still turned out alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Oh my gosh, was this good. I took this to a Cinco De Mayo party for dessert. Everyone raved about it. It was a little time consuming to make but it was well worth it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. However, I did add the toasted coconut on top per another reviewer. I prepared it the day before the party finishing it at 8 pm and then refrigerated it overnight. It was served the next night at about 6 pm. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marquitta Kirwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States