G's Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Everybody raved about this cake! I did substitute cream of coconut for half of the evaporated milk & garnished with toasted almond slices & fresh coconut! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have had tres leches cake before from a a store and bakery-it was good..but then i came across this cake recipe..omg i am Latina and we love our tres leches cake-made this cake last year for my husbands birthday he loved it..i have to practically fight for a piece and it's a good size cake! lol all of our family members raved about this cake! my husband come from a family of 11 siblings including him so if you like rich thick cake that has a perfect amount of just enough sweet,richness that melts in your mouth and dances i would make this cake it's more then worth it..it's on the top of the best cakes i have ever had! did i sell ya? dare ya to live a little! I will be making this cake for my uncle this forth of july-his is the 3rd but i know he will love it! can't wait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Weems
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I have heard of tres leche cakes for a long time..but never tried one..till now. I am an instant fan..this cake is the best thing I have put in my mouth in a long time. I am picky when it comes to cakes and this one is worth the time and the wait for the 2 days to enjoy it. The only changes I made was to use a 12 oz can of cocont milk instead of the evaporated milk, poured the milk sauce on when warm, and put on the whip cream after it was refrigerated for 2 days. and topped it with toasted coconut. This cake reminded me of a coconut cream pie souffle'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Oh my gosh, was this good. I took this to a Cinco De Mayo party for dessert. Everyone raved about it. It was a little time consuming to make but it was well worth it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. However, I did add the toasted coconut on top per another reviewer. I prepared it the day before the party finishing it at 8 pm and then refrigerated it overnight. It was served the next night at about 6 pm. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I've had another recipe from this site printed and ready to go for about two weeks. It had hundreds of reviews, but for some reason, at the last minute, I had second thoughts and decided to look around and settled on making this one instead, even though it had only a handful of reviews. I'm SO glad I did! This cake was fabulous!! I'd never made it before, so I was a bit nervous to bring it to a work potluck, but everyone who tried it loved it. I made only two minor revisions - I used vanilla extract instead of almond (daughter has an almond allergy) and used powdered sugar in the whipping cream just because that's what I always use. Followed the directions otherwise exactly as written. Success! Looking at how the measurement of ingredients differs in this one so much from the one I was going to try, I can't even imagine how the other one could work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. It may seem like a lot of liquid, but it gets absorbed into the cake very quickly. We didn't wait for the cake to cool before we poured the milk mixture on top, and it turned out beautifully. I was a little concerned because the cake rose up really high while it was cooking, but once I removed it from the oven and poked the holes into it, it fell enough so that the topping could be added. The cake turned out very moist and flavorful, but not as wet as other tres leches cakes I've had. The texture was wonderful. You can top it with toasted sliced almonds and fresh strawberries to make it extra special. It's the perfect dessert for summer and definitely better served the next day. My husband also tried it topped with coconut and with sliced bananas, and that was good too. You can really customize it to your own tastes. I like that you can bake it in a standard 13x9 inch pan. Other recipes I looked at required pan sizes that we don't have. Will definitely make this one again. Might try substituting vanilla extract for the almond next time, although the almond pairs great with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Made this recipe for the first annual Tamale Day with friends...what a big hit!! Everyone wanted the recipe and there was none left. So very good and not overly sweet and perfect density. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I served this cake for a Dia de los Muertos fundraiser dinner and it was a big hit. I've made other recipes for Tres Leche cake but I prefer the flavor and texture of this recipe. I didn't change a thing with this recipe and I did make it two days in advance as recommended. I topped the cake with toasted coconut on top of the whipped cream topping and I'd do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I fell in love with this recipe. I made it for my neighbor's birthday. I did tweak it a little. I used vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I just don't care for it. For the tres leches I used 1/3 of a cup of heavy cream instead of the whole milk. I'm lactose intolerant so tasting it was a bit of a sacrifice but worth it. I will be making this again but adding some strawberries. It was the best tres leches cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
First time to make this. This was easy to make. I'm not crazy about almond and so I used vanilla instead and it tasted like all the other Tres Leche cakes I've had. Very, very good--sweet, dense and very moist. Made it for my sister to share at work. Turned out great!! Just sorry I didn't get a piece. It's one that I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States