G's Flank Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
My husband and I went to heaven the night we made this! We had never had flank steak before so this was something new. Now we'll be making it all the time. I used 1 tbsp. veg. oil (didn't have any olive) and 1 tbsp. sesame oil since since the rest of the reciple had an Asian theme to it. I also added about 1/2 to 1 tbsp. hot red pepper flakes. It certainly didn't add any spice but it may have added to the flavor so I'll do that again next time. I marinated it for two days, grilled it med. to med.-rare and sliced it real thin against the grain. Superb! IMPORTANT: You must slice this cut of meat thin and against the grain otherwise it won't be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Just mega !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly and the meat came out perfect. Even my picky sister-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is so good. I used this marinade with top round steak and it turned out great. I marinated it for 24 hours, which I think, made a big difference. I used 1/2 of the requested oil and a little more lemon juice. Will make this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Great marinade - kids loved it. The flavors were subtle yet seemed to soak all the way through the steaks, and smelled great while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was a good recipe. I really enjoyed it although it did turn out slightly too salty. That's probably my fault since I used really thinly cut top sirloin which probably shouldn't have been marniated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
WOW! This was great - - - - everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Great marinade. To keep the marinade low carbs, I used 3 packets of Splenda instead of the brown sugar. Also, I served the steak on a bed of the oriental cabbage salad featured in the South Beach Diet. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I actually was going to broil an oyster cut London Broil and wanted a new marinade so I tried this. Quick and easy to make and it added a nice flavor to the beef. I would definitely use it on a flank steak which is much tougher and let it marinade overnite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Yummy! And so easy to make. I used a flank steak, scored on both sides, and marinated for about 24 hrs. Great taste and it came out surprisingly tender, for a flank steak. Next time, I will try to marinate it even longer. This marinade would work well with any cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States