Grown Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Wanted something for lunch to use avocado, tomato, fresh basil, but not a caprese salad. This was perfect! Left out salt and red pepper flakes, personal preference. Switched up cheese a little (swiss instead of provalone, added sharp cheddar) because of what I had on hand. It made a fabulous sandwich. On nom mom... Will be making variations on this for a while. I think the basil and avocado are what make this stand out as a different take on grilled cheese... I've been making them with my own changes for a long time. But hadn't considered that. Silly me. Thanks for the enlightenment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This grilled cheese tasted great except you had to eat it quickly if you did not want it to get soggy. Possibly try a different way of cooking it without so much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
yes, love this grilled cheese sandwich, been making up my own different grilled cheese sandwich's for yrs, so happy so many love this, my thoughts are,? why haven't so many cooks experimented with different grilled cheese sandwich's, It is bind blowing, hey try spinach in between (oh you have to thaw frozen spinach, and with a clean dry towel, wring out excess water) season with some salt, spinach need's a little, add different cheese's and maybe a meat, or keep it vegetarian, heat spinach in microwave until just warm, put between one side of cheese then spinach and a little salt, maybe a few 3 grinds of nutmeg (use a pharmasan shredder) and put two more slice's of what ever cheese you like, or sauté some shrooms diced put between the cheese, use your imagination, it all works out, butter the bread and grill or use a panini press, sorry for the spelling, had surgery today, getting ready to make a grilled cheese with pastrami, swiss, cheddar and some drained sourkrout (sorry spelling) and a cup of soup, (home made chicken noodle) yum"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was all kinds of good. It didn't taste home made at all. It was like I stopped in a really good restaurant and got a $10 sandwich. The red pepper flakes gave it a few subtle bursts of heat which was too overwhelming. This will be in regular rotation in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Untaa Owoeye
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved it!!! Delicious flavor combo and love the crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The flavor of this was good. For the seasonings I just added them to taste. I used the American cheese and mozzarella, but didn't have provolone. I also used the wheat bread as suggested, but think a white Italian or French bread would have been better. It was good and filling, but quite a lot going on in the sandwich. The only other change I made was using low-fat dairy products. I added up the calories as I made it and it came to 360, so the 672 seems to be a bit off. I ate this for lunch today, but I have had other flavored grilled cheese from the site that I liked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was delicious! The only change I made was I put extra tomato & avocado slices on each sandwich (my preference!) The flavors came together so well! I think next time I'll add a slice of bacon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Greatest Grilled Cheese EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
So good...used provolone and sharp cheddar cheese. Loved the avacado in this....definately a new twist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Oh, YUM...LOVED this sandwich! I halved the recipe to only make one sandwich, and used Tuscan bread, yellow American cheese and a bit of dried basil b/c I had no fresh (will have to try it that way next time). The flavor combination in this sandwich is wonderful, and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the addition of the pepper flakes! I sort of just eyeballed all of the seasonings b/c, frankly, I didn't feel like busting out the measuring spoons, lol. This would be great w/ any cheese combo, IMO. I love finding new sandwich/grilled cheese recipes to try, and this one is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States