Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This soup is fantastic. I've been making this for a couple of months now. The only reason I'm giving it four stars (not 5) is because I've made lots of additions based on other user recos. It's a great place to start. I use a total of 10 cups liquid - a couple cups water, 1 c. wine, and the rest chicken broth. I add 1 onion, 4 cloves garlic, 3-4 stalks of chopped celery, 1 TBS. curry powder and a bay leaf to the broth for flavor. I also add lots of veggies. I add 1 cup each frozen corn and peas, squash and yesterday I added sweet potato and butternut squash. The pearl barley makes it and absorbs a lot of water! It's very hearty and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I don't know how such a simple recipe can be soooo delicious, but it is!! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey, used chicken broth, and added some garlic granules. I also cut the water back to 6 cups to keep it thicker. I don't know if there's a difference between pearl barley and regular barley-but having used the regular before, I knew 1 cup was way too much-so I added only 1/4 of a cup. Perfect flavor-even without onion or celery which I feel has to be the base for any soup/stew. Very thick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This recipe needs FLAVOR! And less barley because it seems to take over the soup! I'll try this again but with more vegetables and less barley. Definetely more spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
When I eat this soup, I feel totally nourished and my friends think I've worked in the kitchen all day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I thought that beef broth with turkey might be weird, but it just wouldn't be as good any other way! I followed the recipe to a T,but I think next time I will add onion and mushrooms, because to me few soups are complete without them. Beyond that, I won't use boulion cubes again. It gave good flavor, but was WAY too salty for my taste. It cooked really fast for me. By the time the barley was cooked the veggies were over done. It was still fantastic. I will most deffinetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Quick and easy but not great tasting. It's not bad but all the ingredients are bland so all the flavor comes from the bouillon. I'd describe it as average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 4 cans reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion (personal preference) and also added 1 can drained green beans, and ~1&1/2 cups each frozen corn and peas. Makes a ton, freezes well, and tastes delicious. Good old fashioned (healthy with the turkey!) vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Delicious. However, the barley needs the entire hour along with the vegetables - 15 minutes was definitely not long enough. I seasoned the meat while browning it, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe is just the thing for cold days! With turkey, barley, potatoes, carrots and an entire head of cabbage, this is an incredibly healthy meal. I imagine it can seem bland to someone used to spicy foods, but everyone in my family loved it, even the toddler. It is even better the next day. The barley does absorb the broth as it sits, but I don't see this as a problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great beginning. Taking advice from others and knowing our taste buds I made the following changes which makes this soup a keeper for us! Browned turkey in large pot with garlic, onion, fresh sage and thyme and Italian seasoning. Added 2 of each: white potatoes, sweet potatoes, celery and carrots. Created broth by adding 5 C lo-sodium chicken stock, 2 C lo-sodium beef stock, 1 C white wine. Added 1 bag of shredded cabbage (white and red mix), 1 cup pearl barley. Brought to a boil, lowered heat, covered and simmered for 1 hour. Served with freshly grated parmesan cheese and crusty bread. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States