Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I added a cup of white wine to this soup and substituted chicken broth (NO MSG!) for some of the water, and skipped the bouillon. I also added fresh grated ginger and increased the recipe to serve a small group. I added a bay leaf and this time I put in kale, as well as a bit of olive oil and dried oregano during the browning of the turkey. Liked the barley, it really rounded it out. This soup is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was so good! I didn't cook the veggies for as long and had to cook the barley longer. I also salt and peppered the ground turkey, sprinkled it with a little poultry seasoning, and browned it with a half an onion and some celery to give some more flavor. My husband is excited because it's a hardy soup (his favorite kind). I can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Flavor as-is is very bland, but a solid start. The nutrition is there. I had to add a lot of italian seasoning, garlic powder, a touch of sage, a bay leaf, and some pepper for flavor, along with a half onion, diced, and 3 stalks of celery, diced. I also added in the juices from cooking the meat, which I flavored with pepper, italian seasoning, and garlic powder. I'm not impressed but my daughter asked for leftovers in her lunch, so I guess it turned out okay. Still, I had to stray from the original recipe quite a bit to achieve what flavor I got. **Also, per other reviewer's suggestions, I cooked the barley for the entire hour along with the other vegetables, and I had to add more broth during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Loved this soup with some alterations I made just because I can: - used ground beef instead of turkey (my grocery store in the small town I live in was out. I live in Chicago) - used Swanson beef broth - added a diced onion - omitted the barley (yuck) - added 1-2 cups white wine (yummy) - threw some dried spices in (maybe sage, garlic powder, possible others?) I loved this simple, flavorful soup - it gets better the day after you make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe was fantastic--would be the perfect meal to serve a large group of friends (super easy to make ahead)--but after reading reviews I did the following to liven it up: 1. Season the turkey I browned it. I used some dried sage, thyme, italian seasoning, and Tastefully Simple "garlic garlic" (any dried garlic would do) 3. Since we were out of potatoes and cabbage I added celery, a can of corn, and a can of peas instead 4. Instead of barley, I added a rice and lentil mix I had on hand. I just added 2 cups and increased the amount of water by one cup 5. For more flavor, I added two cups of white wine. The soup was OUT OF THIS WORLD good and after the great reviews I've received from family members I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good. I added 1 chopped onion and a clove of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was fabulous! I just used 2 sweet potatoes and 2 regular potatoes which added a little sweetness. Everyone loved it - even my 7 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A hearty, inexpensive soup. My husband liked it but remarked that it might be better with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Anything my picky preschoolers will eat without a fight gets 5 stars from me. I made it exactly to the recipe with the exception of adding the barley in at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States