Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Flavor as-is is very bland, but a solid start. The nutrition is there. I had to add a lot of italian seasoning, garlic powder, a touch of sage, a bay leaf, and some pepper for flavor, along with a half onion, diced, and 3 stalks of celery, diced. I also added in the juices from cooking the meat, which I flavored with pepper, italian seasoning, and garlic powder. I'm not impressed but my daughter asked for leftovers in her lunch, so I guess it turned out okay. Still, I had to stray from the original recipe quite a bit to achieve what flavor I got. **Also, per other reviewer's suggestions, I cooked the barley for the entire hour along with the other vegetables, and I had to add more broth during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Loved this soup with some alterations I made just because I can: - used ground beef instead of turkey (my grocery store in the small town I live in was out. I live in Chicago) - used Swanson beef broth - added a diced onion - omitted the barley (yuck) - added 1-2 cups white wine (yummy) - threw some dried spices in (maybe sage, garlic powder, possible others?) I loved this simple, flavorful soup - it gets better the day after you make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe was fantastic--would be the perfect meal to serve a large group of friends (super easy to make ahead)--but after reading reviews I did the following to liven it up: 1. Season the turkey I browned it. I used some dried sage, thyme, italian seasoning, and Tastefully Simple "garlic garlic" (any dried garlic would do) 3. Since we were out of potatoes and cabbage I added celery, a can of corn, and a can of peas instead 4. Instead of barley, I added a rice and lentil mix I had on hand. I just added 2 cups and increased the amount of water by one cup 5. For more flavor, I added two cups of white wine. The soup was OUT OF THIS WORLD good and after the great reviews I've received from family members I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good. I added 1 chopped onion and a clove of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was fabulous! I just used 2 sweet potatoes and 2 regular potatoes which added a little sweetness. Everyone loved it - even my 7 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
A hearty, inexpensive soup. My husband liked it but remarked that it might be better with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Anything my picky preschoolers will eat without a fight gets 5 stars from me. I made it exactly to the recipe with the exception of adding the barley in at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Barley needs full hour to cook. Otherwise very healthy, easy, fast, and good. I did everything in the same pot for simplicity. addendum: Second time I was pressed for time. Put barley in pot with water immediately to start cooking. Then added other ingredients. I sauteeed onion, celery, and ground turkey and added it to pan. Did need more liquid so I used chicken stock. Did not use all the bouillon cubes. Did add oregano, thyme and garlic powder. No potatoes since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I had a package of ground turkey and needed to use it....saw this recipe and love it! I added onions and some spices because some of the reviews said it was bland. I don't think so at all....great for a cold day~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States