Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
When I eat this soup, I feel totally nourished and my friends think I've worked in the kitchen all day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe is just the thing for cold days! With turkey, barley, potatoes, carrots and an entire head of cabbage, this is an incredibly healthy meal. I imagine it can seem bland to someone used to spicy foods, but everyone in my family loved it, even the toddler. It is even better the next day. The barley does absorb the broth as it sits, but I don't see this as a problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I substituted a vegetable based bouillon, rendering a surprisingly delicious pot of soup. Sadly, I forgot the barley and it didn't dawn on me until I was two bowls into it. Even so, this recipe really hit the spot on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEORADEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yummy! I used 4 cans reduced sodium beef broth instead of the boullion (personal preference) and also added 1 can drained green beans, and ~1&1/2 cups each frozen corn and peas. Makes a ton, freezes well, and tastes delicious. Good old fashioned (healthy with the turkey!) vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I left out the cabbage and carrots, and added peas, extra potatoes, and 2 tablespoons of curry! definitely a different turkey soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used the exact recipe and found it to be delicious. My niece loved it too. The following day it was still good, especially with a splash of sour cream on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe however I did change a few things in order to watch my diet. I cooked my meatballs in the cooking spray instead of oil. Then instead of the 1 egg, I used the equivalent in egg whites. I instead of water I used beef broth and I didn't have any celery so I used green pepper. This is a great soup and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
We served this at church for a lenten meal and it way by far the favorite of everyone!!!! Excellent soup will make at home too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is really, really good. Before reading this receipe, I would have never thought to use ground turkey in a soup and I had never used barley in anything. Now I've made it twice, both times with chicken bouillon rather than beef (personal preference). I definitely recommend seasoning the ground turkey when you brown it. Also, I add chopped onion and celery to mine and when I add the barley, I also toss in some chopped zucchini. Hearty and can warm you up from the inside out! Will be making this again...very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake-ette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
WOW! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I used chicken bouillon instead of beef and added onion, mushrooms, and canned corn. Also added 2 tbl curry and some minced garlic. I didn't have any barley, but I will try it next time. Great hearty soup. This recipe was great left over and it freezes well too. This recipe will become a regular in our home, especially when it is cold out. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States