Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great beginning. Taking advice from others and knowing our taste buds I made the following changes which makes this soup a keeper for us! Browned turkey in large pot with garlic, onion, fresh sage and thyme and Italian seasoning. Added 2 of each: white potatoes, sweet potatoes, celery and carrots. Created broth by adding 5 C lo-sodium chicken stock, 2 C lo-sodium beef stock, 1 C white wine. Added 1 bag of shredded cabbage (white and red mix), 1 cup pearl barley. Brought to a boil, lowered heat, covered and simmered for 1 hour. Served with freshly grated parmesan cheese and crusty bread. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great Soup! I left out the barley and added a little ditalini pasta instead. Everyone enjoyed it. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will add other vegetables and maybe a little jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was REALLY yummy! i didnt have any cabbage so i left that out and the barley. I chopped a small onion and added to the broth. I added Italian seasoning to the ground turkey, since ground turkey doesnt have much taste. My husband took one bite and said oh my. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My hubby was sick and this was the perfect feel-better soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Although a lot of people have suggested changes, I decided to stick to the basic recipe for starters. All three of my children (ages 9-16) enjoyed this meal which was surprising since it included cabbage. My husband is a very picky eater and he enjoyed it as well. Leftovers were even better. I've already added it to my list of go-to soups. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty good overall. After reading reviews that the soup was a little bland, I added some things to jazz it up: 1 onion & 3 stalks celery (diced) lots of parsley ground black pepper chicken stock instead of water Vegeta instead of beef bouillon Only had 3 small potatoes but it was plenty, and didn't add the barley because didn't want/need the extra starch. Turned out delicious and both my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My whole family loved it. Maybe next time I'll leave out the potatoes--really didn't need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
On of my favorite soups!! My friend made it and substituted yams in the place of sweet potatoes and broccoli for the cabbage and omitted the barley. She did not have many ingredients but this recipe was a great foundation. This soup was yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a great base! Unfortunately I am reviewing this recipe after I changed some of the ingredients, but only out of necessity. I used chicken buillon instead of beef, rice instead of pearl barley, and cauliflower instead of carrots and cabbage. I still used ground turkey and potatoes with the skins left on. This was fantastic! Great idea for a soup. To spice it up, I used garlic granules, onion powder, lemon pepper and some curry powder. Thank you for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
absolutely delicious! I followed some of the previous comments by adding curry, more flavor, more veggies! It was very good and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States