Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Mmmm.. This recipe is Fabulous! Easy, Taste, and Filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Babcock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
WONDERFUL! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used ground beef. I sauteed the ground beef with 1 onion (chopped) and 4 garlic cloves (pressed). I added sliced celery and substituted barley with elbow macaroni as I was out of barley. I also added a pinch of oregano, basil, 2 bay leaves, and a shake of salt and pepper for taste. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I found the recipe to be very easy and with a few modifications of my own, it was an AWESOME dinner. I used kale instead of cabbage, small yukon gold potatoes instead of regular ones and I added celery. When I cooked the turkey I first sauted an onion with some garlic and olive oil to flavor the turkey. I did everything else the same. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I changed up the recipe just a little bit. I used chicken base instead of beef boullion cubes. Didn't have cabbage so I added green beans, celery and corn. I made the ground turkey into a meatloaf mix with onion that I put in my mini food blender. I then used a small scoop to drop the meatballs into the soup. Wife LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I agree with other reviewers, a few little tweaks and this is an amazing soup. I added 1 onion, 2 cloves garlic and a few bay leaves, and more water. I also substituted about 3 C of the water with some home made beef stock I had on hand. It was so good my mom and I both ate 2 big bowls of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Severin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I used "Better Than Bullion" chicken bullion for the 8 cups of liquid. I added 1 tsp of sage, 2 tsp black pepper, a bay leaf and 1 tsp Italian seasoning to the soup while it cooked. I added a little pepper and thyme to the turkey while I browned it. I threw in 3 red potatoes too. It was very, very good. Fresh, crisp flavor and so healthy. I will make this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo Utah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
great starter soup - I love all the ingredients! just was a little blan so all I did was add more spices and beef baise. and everything was perfect! my family that was skeptical ended up really enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent soup. I made it according to LC Debra's guidelines (more veggies, 3-4 cloves garlic and 10 cups liquid comprising of one cup wine, a couple of cups of water, the rest being broth -- I used Better Than Bouillon beef base). I also omitted the potatoes -- I try to keep things low glycemic, and while barely is good, potato isn't. To save time, I prepared this with my pressure cooker. (a) I cooked the barely (in the liquid) on high for 15 mins while (b) browning the ground turkey in a separate pan (adding onion and garlic for for last part of the browning). Then (c) I quick-released the pressure cooker, added the cabbage and turkey/onion/garlic mix, and then (d) I pressure-cooked on high for 6 mins. Then (e) I added one cup each of frozen peas and corn. It made about 7 generous servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My family and I loved this recipe. My 7 year old is pretty picky and she loved it!! I did alter the recipe--instead of adding the cabbage I added celery. This was simply because I did not have cabbage and did have celery. I did not add barely, but cooked egg noodles to serve in the soup. I feel could be called a stoup ( a soup and stew combo). This will be a go to recipe for the upcoming cold Chicago winter! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pinkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
It's a good start, but needs flavor, so I'm rating it a 3. In my kitchen, I reduce the barley to 1/2 cup, increase the turkey by 1/2 pound. Add about 5 Bay Leaves lots of pepper and some salt. Also reduce the bouillon cubes to 4. And increase water to 9-10 cups. Also, add barley 20 minutes into cooking not 15 minutes before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States