Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
great starter soup - I love all the ingredients! just was a little blan so all I did was add more spices and beef baise. and everything was perfect! my family that was skeptical ended up really enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent soup. I made it according to LC Debra's guidelines (more veggies, 3-4 cloves garlic and 10 cups liquid comprising of one cup wine, a couple of cups of water, the rest being broth -- I used Better Than Bouillon beef base). I also omitted the potatoes -- I try to keep things low glycemic, and while barely is good, potato isn't. To save time, I prepared this with my pressure cooker. (a) I cooked the barely (in the liquid) on high for 15 mins while (b) browning the ground turkey in a separate pan (adding onion and garlic for for last part of the browning). Then (c) I quick-released the pressure cooker, added the cabbage and turkey/onion/garlic mix, and then (d) I pressure-cooked on high for 6 mins. Then (e) I added one cup each of frozen peas and corn. It made about 7 generous servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
My family and I loved this recipe. My 7 year old is pretty picky and she loved it!! I did alter the recipe--instead of adding the cabbage I added celery. This was simply because I did not have cabbage and did have celery. I did not add barely, but cooked egg noodles to serve in the soup. I feel could be called a stoup ( a soup and stew combo). This will be a go to recipe for the upcoming cold Chicago winter! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pinkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
It's a good start, but needs flavor, so I'm rating it a 3. In my kitchen, I reduce the barley to 1/2 cup, increase the turkey by 1/2 pound. Add about 5 Bay Leaves lots of pepper and some salt. Also reduce the bouillon cubes to 4. And increase water to 9-10 cups. Also, add barley 20 minutes into cooking not 15 minutes before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
very delicious, however i made some changes to make it more flavorful. I used about 13 c of water, 1.5 lb meat and extra veggies. To the water I added a couple tbsp of italian season and 1 bay leaf, and 10 tsp bouillon powder. Then to the turkey i added about 1.5 tsp garlic and a couple tbsp basil. Since I didn't have barley, I used brown rice. I cooked it with about 1/2c less water than usual and added it about 10 min before serving. Also I added finely chopped white onion to the bowls when serving. It doesn't add a real strong flavor, but gives a little crunch with every bite. My family loved it, my husband ate 2 big bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
LOVED IT! I didn't change a thing! My kids AND my husband ate every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great beginning. Taking advice from others and knowing our taste buds I made the following changes which makes this soup a keeper for us! Browned turkey in large pot with garlic, onion, fresh sage and thyme and Italian seasoning. Added 2 of each: white potatoes, sweet potatoes, celery and carrots. Created broth by adding 5 C lo-sodium chicken stock, 2 C lo-sodium beef stock, 1 C white wine. Added 1 bag of shredded cabbage (white and red mix), 1 cup pearl barley. Brought to a boil, lowered heat, covered and simmered for 1 hour. Served with freshly grated parmesan cheese and crusty bread. Oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great Soup! I left out the barley and added a little ditalini pasta instead. Everyone enjoyed it. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will add other vegetables and maybe a little jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was REALLY yummy! i didnt have any cabbage so i left that out and the barley. I chopped a small onion and added to the broth. I added Italian seasoning to the ground turkey, since ground turkey doesnt have much taste. My husband took one bite and said oh my. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My hubby was sick and this was the perfect feel-better soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States