Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was good. I used chicken broth and added extra water. Reduced the amount of barley and added oregano and parsley. Still needed more flavor. The meat had some flavor since I browned it in garlic as some other reviewers suggested. Next time: More seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup is missing something. Its's not bad...but it's not good. It has potential. I haven't figured out what it is!!! Any suggestions from those who have made this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I tried this soup because I was looking for a soup recipe to use up some ground turkey, which my husband wouldn't eat. I thought he might not mind it in soup. It sounded a little too simple to be good but I made it as written. Having used barley before I assumed the 1 cup must mean already cooked barley which worked out great. I couldn't resist throwing in a bit of dried onion and a clove of garlic whole. I made it the night before and reheated it with dumplings. We finished up the leftovers tonight and my hubby said ,"you have to make this soup again! In thirty years he has never said that before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, but if I were you I'd add 10-11 cups of water instead of the 8 cups it says too. It just was really salty with only 8 cups. But other then that it was really easy to make and prep and not to foget sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great base recipes. I used 8 cups of chicken broth instead of water and the bouillon cube, added onions, garlic, and a bunch of spices (bay leaf, thyme, basil, rosemary, more garlic, salt). I seasoned the turkey with these as I cooked it as well. What really made this taste amazing was sprinkling a little shredded romano cheese on top - created a fantastic combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great base recipe for a yummy, comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Mmmm.. This recipe is Fabulous! Easy, Taste, and Filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4FuninLV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
WONDERFUL! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used ground beef. I sauteed the ground beef with 1 onion (chopped) and 4 garlic cloves (pressed). I added sliced celery and substituted barley with elbow macaroni as I was out of barley. I also added a pinch of oregano, basil, 2 bay leaves, and a shake of salt and pepper for taste. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I found the recipe to be very easy and with a few modifications of my own, it was an AWESOME dinner. I used kale instead of cabbage, small yukon gold potatoes instead of regular ones and I added celery. When I cooked the turkey I first sauted an onion with some garlic and olive oil to flavor the turkey. I did everything else the same. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I changed up the recipe just a little bit. I used chicken base instead of beef boullion cubes. Didn't have cabbage so I added green beans, celery and corn. I made the ground turkey into a meatloaf mix with onion that I put in my mini food blender. I then used a small scoop to drop the meatballs into the soup. Wife LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States