Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! I used organic chicken broth instead of bullion and water, added a cup of white wine, fresh organic celery and carrots, garlic powder because I was out of fresh, added frozen organic green beans and used 10 minute barley from Trader Joes. I also used a pinch of Bells seasoning left over from thanksgiving. You can really make this anyway you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It was good. Modifications: Only added 5 bullion cubes b/c of others reviews, and added onion, garlic, bay leaf, & oregano for spice. Also added some peas and corn because I did not have cabbage on-hand. Added only 3/4 cup barley. When I cooked the turkey I added some spices while browning, but it didn't matter. The broth was really flavorful with all the other things thrown in. I would have given more stars if not for all the modifications. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa.hecht81
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Added more bouillon to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This soup is really good. I would use less bouillon cubes since 8 cubes turned out really salty. the pearled barley was different in my recipe box, but I think I will be making this again. :) Very good mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Darien, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Can this recipe be made in a slow cooker? If so, any alterations?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used this recipe as the "base" for my turkey soup... I added 1 cup of white wine, 2 cups water 8 cups chicken broth. I used a couple of large garlic cloves, basil, parsley and onion to taste. I added cubed potatoes and chopped carrots. I browned turkey with onion soup mix and added to soup mixture to simmer. I added 1 1/2 cups pearl barley to cook for 45 minutes. ( I didn't use fast cook barley) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The base for this recipe was nice, especially since I love turkey, and I love playing around with soups. I did make a lot of modifications though: I added 4 cups beef broth, 2.5 cups red wine, and 1 cup water. I added 1/2 tsp herbs d'provence (this is like a mix of rosemar, oregano, and some other herbs), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp chardonnay sea salt. I added 3 celery, about 1.5 cups quartered zucchini, 2 cups chopped green beans, 3-4 carrots, and 2 potatoes quartered - I kinda wing it on my measurements of veggies, the more the better. I then sauteed the turkey with garlic and a sprinkle of cayenne. And added the barley for the 15 minutes but it probably needed 20. I will be making this again, but my rating is for the soup with my modifications. If I had made the original recipe I probably would've given it 2.5/5 since it sounds bland/salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We all (5 of us) really liked this recipe! I didn't have any barley, so I used quinoa and added it about halfway through the cooking time. It takes a little longer than barley to cook, but it was so good! Also I only used half a cup of quinoa and that was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was good. I used chicken broth and added extra water. Reduced the amount of barley and added oregano and parsley. Still needed more flavor. The meat had some flavor since I browned it in garlic as some other reviewers suggested. Next time: More seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup is missing something. Its's not bad...but it's not good. It has potential. I haven't figured out what it is!!! Any suggestions from those who have made this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States