Ground Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
It's a good base. I changed it up a bit. Sauteed 1 chopped onion, 3 celery ribs (chopped), & 2 carrots (chopped) in a dutch oven with salt & pepper, then added the browned ground turkey, 3 beef & 3 chicken bouillon cubes, 1.5 tbsp italian seasoning, 1 tbsp thyme, 1 tspn sage, 1 tspn cayenne, cabbage & potatoes, brought to a boil then reduced to simmer for 20 minutes. Then added the Barley and 1.5 cups of chopped green beans. Let simmer for additional 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyfresh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NewToBaking
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I have to eliminate some of the veggies. I took out the potatoes and cabbage as I'm Breast Feeding. I added 4 carrots and 4 celery stocks. I cut up a whole onion. I add some mushrooms. 2 chicken bouillon cubes. 4 cups of veggie broth. 4 cups of water. 1 tabs of pepper. 2 tabs of garlic and 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I added 1 cup of barley as we like it to be a bit thicker. This is great for cold winter nights or if anyone is sick in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I had higher hopes for this soup. It was much better after I added a couple of flavorings. I added a badly needed 1/2 cup of chopped onion. I also added a chopped celery stalk and some garlic powder and black pepper. Without those added things, the broth more or less tasted like potato water. I did use quick barley, because it was what I had. My rating is based on the soup, as is, even though I could partially save it with the changes. I also added parmesan cheese as a garnish, which went well. I am dependent on leftovers, and my husband actually complained about this soup lasting too long. I think he didnt want to say he really didnt care for it. Almost 1/2 of it got tossed, because it wasnt being eaten unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This soup was very,very good. It was hearty and very flavorful. My husband and toddler liked it also. I followed the directions exactly and definitely will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Why on earth would you not brown the turkey first and then add all the soup/veggies to the pot? Also, you need to add spices to the turkey as you brown it. I took out the barley and gave the turkey a nice flare with salt, pepper and smoked paprika. Ground cumin and allspice is also a nice touch, but it depends on taste. I also used spinach instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noramone Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Ok, I have been making this soup for about two years now. I have made it exactly as written, as well as with a few variations and I like it both ways. Personally, I prefer broth over the water & bullion. I also make it all in one pot by browning the turkey and then adding all the broth and veggies to that pot. A note about barley: if you use quick cooking barley there isn't any problem with the proportions or cooking time, as some have noted. Of course, adjusting a soup to the consistency of your preference by adding more liquid is perfectly reasonable. This soup is in my year round permanent rotation. If I want to make it lighter, I use chicken broth, for a richer soup I use beef broth. I also have been known to add whatever veggies (extra onions or mushrooms for example) that I needed to use up and I have always loved the meal. Even my three kids love this. It is one of the only ways they will eat cabbage. My husband likes to add hot sauce, I like to garnish my bowl with Parmesan, you can do a lot with this. This recipe is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! I used organic chicken broth instead of bullion and water, added a cup of white wine, fresh organic celery and carrots, garlic powder because I was out of fresh, added frozen organic green beans and used 10 minute barley from Trader Joes. I also used a pinch of Bells seasoning left over from thanksgiving. You can really make this anyway you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It was good. Modifications: Only added 5 bullion cubes b/c of others reviews, and added onion, garlic, bay leaf, & oregano for spice. Also added some peas and corn because I did not have cabbage on-hand. Added only 3/4 cup barley. When I cooked the turkey I added some spices while browning, but it didn't matter. The broth was really flavorful with all the other things thrown in. I would have given more stars if not for all the modifications. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa.hecht81
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Added more bouillon to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This soup is really good. I would use less bouillon cubes since 8 cubes turned out really salty. the pearled barley was different in my recipe box, but I think I will be making this again. :) Very good mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Darien, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States