Ground Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
My critique is that it is too rich with no seasoning or spices to balance it out. The cheese is too top heavy the ground turkey and tomato sauce tasted way too plain for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Ventura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
didn't really like the cream cheese mixture on the top. I think I would rather go with a more traditional ricotta type thing with this type of dish and layer it in the middle. I did mix the sauce with the noodles and meat b/c otherwise the noodles would just burn on the bottom and be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
So of course I totally changed it based on what I had at home. Sauteed onions, garlic, cherry tomatoes cut in half and asparagus cut into small pieces. Added dried oregano, dried thyme and fresh sage as well as salt and pepper all to taste. Then browned the turkey, added in the veggie mixture and a can of organic diced tomatoes with jus. Added a little sugar and then let this simmer slowly while I cooked one pound of penne rigate. Mixed the two, put into a 9X13 glass baking pan, mixed some sour cream with cream cheese in the carton and spread it out over the pasta mixture, then put a generous helping of shredded mixed italian cheeses (did not bother using the real parmegiano reggiano or provolone since this is an American dish in my opinion) and then baked for 25 mins at 350F. I enjoy casseroles and the creativity you can have with them. My husband doesn't care for baked pasta. I'd make it again because the combinations and options are limitless - all veggie, or using beef or pork or a mixture. Easy to make and you can get creative. I never measure seasonings or much of anything, just do it by eye/taste and it comes out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My family and I absolutely loved it. Did not need to go shopping for too many ingredients, easy to make and it was delicious. Me being from the Caribbean(Puerto Rico), of course I had to add my own little touch to the turkey, Adobo Goya and "sofrito". And to save some calories I used light sour cream, 1/3 fat free cream cheese and 2% milk cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Nothing to rave about probably won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tpringt
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Not only have I made this but I have passed it on to friends. I have adjusted it to make it meatless for my hubby. I will be adding this to my monthly rotation. My kids are in love as well. Thanks for posting it you Casserole Queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was great once I made some changes. I added the onion, garlic, and Italian seasoning as someone had suggested. I also added 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese to the sour cream and cream cheese mixture. Next time, I think k I will reduce the amount of noodles by about 1/3. I'm so glad to find another ground turkey recipe . My family is reducing our consumption of red meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is pretty good. I think it is rich so I cut the fat by using low fat cheeses, sour cream and Philly. I used spiced spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. I used whole wheat enriched noodles. It made a big pan and we will have enough for left overs this week. I added onions and garlic. I also added low fat Feta Cheese crumbles and fat free mozzarella shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a really good recipe. Made it the other night last week & had them asking me to make it again. Added a few things like cilantro, garlic, mushrooms & green peppers. The boys said it tasted like lasagna. Making again for supper tonight. Good quick meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I think this was a great base recipe and then I added to it and was very happy to it. With some embellishments I give it a 5. I caramelized some onions, then added some mushrooms and garlic to the pan. Once done I set aside. I used 24oz caned pasta sauce like others had suggested in stead of just tomato. I Also added extra spices, like rosemary, thyme, oregano, blah blah blah (think italian spice mix). I thought it was great! Very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States