Ground Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Hubby and I loved this! I used spaghetti sauce with mushrooms instead of tomato sauce. I also used two cups of plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream/cream cheese. I threw in some garlic too. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessicaann12
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
We loved it! Modified just a few things because of some reviews. I used low fat cream cheese and sour cream. I also only used about 6oz of each instead of 8. I used an entire small jar of my favorite chunky spaghetti sauce, and also spiced up my meat with garlic and minced onion. Before layering the noodles I layed them in the sauce and than layed them in the pan. They came out perfect, not dry at all :)) My kids wanted seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made some modifications,such as putting about 1 cup of chicken broth before adding noodles to baking dish so that the casserole wont dry up during baking process,diced onions and minced garlic in the ground turkey while cooking and instead of just plain tomato sauce I made it with spaghetti sauce,the cheese blend I did use light sour cream and Neufchatel cream cheese,but,followed the instructions,all in all it tasted very good, my husband enjoyed it,so,yes I would make this again,thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I really wanted to like this recipe. It tasted like one of those recipes your Mom would make that you didnt have the heart to say you hated it. My critique is that it is too rich with no seasoning or spices to balance it out. The cheese is too top heavy the ground turkey and tomato sauce tasted way too plain for my taste. I was really disappointed. I agree with other people onions, garlic oregano all would be a welcome upgrade to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince Ventura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
didn't really like the cream cheese mixture on the top. I think I would rather go with a more traditional ricotta type thing with this type of dish and layer it in the middle. I did mix the sauce with the noodles and meat b/c otherwise the noodles would just burn on the bottom and be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
So of course I totally changed it based on what I had at home. Sauteed onions, garlic, cherry tomatoes cut in half and asparagus cut into small pieces. Added dried oregano, dried thyme and fresh sage as well as salt and pepper all to taste. Then browned the turkey, added in the veggie mixture and a can of organic diced tomatoes with jus. Added a little sugar and then let this simmer slowly while I cooked one pound of penne rigate. Mixed the two, put into a 9X13 glass baking pan, mixed some sour cream with cream cheese in the carton and spread it out over the pasta mixture, then put a generous helping of shredded mixed italian cheeses (did not bother using the real parmegiano reggiano or provolone since this is an American dish in my opinion) and then baked for 25 mins at 350F. I enjoy casseroles and the creativity you can have with them. My husband doesn't care for baked pasta. I'd make it again because the combinations and options are limitless - all veggie, or using beef or pork or a mixture. Easy to make and you can get creative. I never measure seasonings or much of anything, just do it by eye/taste and it comes out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My family and I absolutely loved it. Did not need to go shopping for too many ingredients, easy to make and it was delicious. Me being from the Caribbean(Puerto Rico), of course I had to add my own little touch to the turkey, Adobo Goya and "sofrito". And to save some calories I used light sour cream, 1/3 fat free cream cheese and 2% milk cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Nothing to rave about probably won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tpringt
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Not only have I made this but I have passed it on to friends. I have adjusted it to make it meatless for my hubby. I will be adding this to my monthly rotation. My kids are in love as well. Thanks for posting it you Casserole Queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was great once I made some changes. I added the onion, garlic, and Italian seasoning as someone had suggested. I also added 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese to the sour cream and cream cheese mixture. Next time, I think k I will reduce the amount of noodles by about 1/3. I'm so glad to find another ground turkey recipe . My family is reducing our consumption of red meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States