Ground Pork Cake with Salty Egg (Haam Daan Ju Yoke Beng) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made my own 40 day salted duck eggs and wanted to try them out with this recipe. I used 2 of the eggs, hard-boiled first. I liked the flavors in this dish, but the hard-cooked egg's yolk lender a mealy texture that we did not care for. I would try this again with the salted egg uncooked. Also, add the broccoli florets in the last 10 minutes or later. The broccoli was way overdone after 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing this traditional dish. I love trying stuff that is new to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Note that there are two kinds of salted eggs available for sale. Some are already boiled, so follow these directions. If you can find the ones that are not already cooked, go ahead and mix the white part with a regular egg. Save the yolk. Make a depression in the center of the meat after you place it in the bowl to be steamed. Place the salted egg yolk in the depression you made. Steam as directed. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I love this recipe. I have been searching for it ever since my brother's mother in law made it. The only thing I had to change was the kind of meat. My fiancee doesn't eat pork so I used veal. It's such a simple yet wonderful dish. I make it a lot for a midday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danno
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Quite tasty, with no changes to the recipe. My local market only carries salty eggs already hard-cooked, so the variations using uncooked salty eggs aren't feasable, but the cooked white chopped up nicely in a food processor. I used a largish stoneware cereal bowl to cook it in, because my usual cooking bowls would have been too deep and narrow for cooking well. Next time, I'll try an egg fu yung gravy on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
My husband actualy made this one, I've been baking all day and he wanted to do somthing nice, and I must say it was very nice. Everyone loved it and the kids asked for it in there lunches for school as well! We will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
It was ok. This didn't go well with broccoli...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Love this recipe! I used a non cooked salt egg and a regular egg to mix with the pork. Besides that I didn't change a thing. Next time I might add chestnuts since I've seen it before in this kind of recipe. Props to you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Great-tasting! The best-tasting way I have found to fix salted eggs yet. :) My Cantonese employer said this tastes just like her mom's recipe. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Nice, clear instructions. I agree with the other person, definately use 2 eggs, and just use them raw. I soaked and finely chopped some 4-5 chinese dried mushrooms to add to the mix and they were great - gave it a bit more "crunch". I think a small amount of black fungus could also do the trick - just soak them in cold water for a few minutes then finely chop and add to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
very good!! I can't believe I found a recipe for this. My mother's recipe was "a dash of this, a dash of that". I never figured it out. This tastes almost as good as mom's was. Only thing different was I used 2 salted eggs (my mom's homemade) and stirred it raw into the pork, instead of hard boiling first. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States