Ground Pork Cake with Salty Egg (Haam Daan Ju Yoke Beng) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Note that there are two kinds of salted eggs available for sale. Some are already boiled, so follow these directions. If you can find the ones that are not already cooked, go ahead and mix the white part with a regular egg. Save the yolk. Make a depression in the center of the meat after you place it in the bowl to be steamed. Place the salted egg yolk in the depression you made. Steam as directed. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I love this recipe. I have been searching for it ever since my brother's mother in law made it. The only thing I had to change was the kind of meat. My fiancee doesn't eat pork so I used veal. It's such a simple yet wonderful dish. I make it a lot for a midday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danno
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Quite tasty, with no changes to the recipe. My local market only carries salty eggs already hard-cooked, so the variations using uncooked salty eggs aren't feasable, but the cooked white chopped up nicely in a food processor. I used a largish stoneware cereal bowl to cook it in, because my usual cooking bowls would have been too deep and narrow for cooking well. Next time, I'll try an egg fu yung gravy on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
My husband actualy made this one, I've been baking all day and he wanted to do somthing nice, and I must say it was very nice. Everyone loved it and the kids asked for it in there lunches for school as well! We will definitly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
It was ok. This didn't go well with broccoli...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Love this recipe! I used a non cooked salt egg and a regular egg to mix with the pork. Besides that I didn't change a thing. Next time I might add chestnuts since I've seen it before in this kind of recipe. Props to you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Great-tasting! The best-tasting way I have found to fix salted eggs yet. :) My Cantonese employer said this tastes just like her mom's recipe. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Nice, clear instructions. I agree with the other person, definately use 2 eggs, and just use them raw. I soaked and finely chopped some 4-5 chinese dried mushrooms to add to the mix and they were great - gave it a bit more "crunch". I think a small amount of black fungus could also do the trick - just soak them in cold water for a few minutes then finely chop and add to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
very good!! I can't believe I found a recipe for this. My mother's recipe was "a dash of this, a dash of that". I never figured it out. This tastes almost as good as mom's was. Only thing different was I used 2 salted eggs (my mom's homemade) and stirred it raw into the pork, instead of hard boiling first. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Mashing a hard boiled egg finely is rather hard, so I think it is easier to just mix the raw white of the salted egg together with the rest of the ingredients, and then make a little well on top of the patty and put the salted yolk in and steam them together. Very simple to make, and very delicious too. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States