Ground Nut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I followed the recommendation about side toppings served with this stew and everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again for my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was excellent. I made a few modifications, though: I used the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste, I used 2- 15 1/2 oz cans of tomatoes with jalapenos and I used about 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 2 cups, I added a cubed yam and 1 1/2 green bell peppers. I also used 4 chicken breasts instead of 6. It was hearty and plentiful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is an awesome recipe that can be easily adapted to whatever you have on hand or feel like eating. I added sweet potatoes (sliced about 1/4-inch-thick), okra and eggplant, all of which I sauteed and added to the stew before cooking the chicken. My husband and I both love it and it's going into our regular rotation; haven't tried it out on kids but I think if they like peanut butter it's worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I had my husband make this one night this week and it turned out fantastic! The only thing he altered was he put in a can of carrots (with the juice accidentally) and it turned out fantastic! Next time I think we will try it without the carrot juice to see if it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I spent a month in Ghana and fell in love with groundnut stew when I was there. I was so excited when I tasted the final product of this recipe because it was absolutely perfect! I added chopped onions and green peppers, and omitted the mushrooms. I also had to use extra chicken stock to thin it out. I served it over rice like they do in Ghana. And instead of using raw chicken breast, I bought a whole roasted chicken, carved it up and poured the stew over whole pieces of drumstick/thigh, and then shredded up the rest to add to the stew. Delicious! My boyfriend and my roommate (both of whom have never had African food before) devoured it and are already asking me to make more. Thank you so much for this recipe! You definitely helped satisfy my craving for Ghanaian food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faye
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great! But more like a soup instead of stew Maybe because I use natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I needed a sauce to go with gari (my husband brought back so much the last time he went home to Africa for a visit). This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe. Next time I will add an extra can of diced tomatoes, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Wonderful Recipe!! I cut the peanut butter in half and used the whole can of tomatoes. Also added some coriander, chopped garlic, chopped ginger and diced yams. I skipped the mushrooms and served it over rice. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again. I can't wait to dig into my leftovers! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Absolutely my favourite dish. Smothered over rice with as many condiments (shredded coconut, diced apple, chutney, orange slices, tomato slices, raisins, plantain chips etc) as possible. Fansastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States