Ground Nut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I, too, was introduced to Ground Nut Stew by a friend who spent half his life as a missionary kid in West Africa. He taught me to serve this over rice, but with the addition of adding any kind of sqauash or yam to the stew itself, then providing plates of chopped lettuce, bananas, and tomatoes to add to each individual's plate. The raw stuff on top really makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I spent a month in Ghana and fell in love with groundnut stew when I was there. I was so excited when I tasted the final product of this recipe because it was absolutely perfect! I added chopped onions and green peppers, and omitted the mushrooms. I also had to use extra chicken stock to thin it out. I served it over rice like they do in Ghana. And instead of using raw chicken breast, I bought a whole roasted chicken, carved it up and poured the stew over whole pieces of drumstick/thigh, and then shredded up the rest to add to the stew. Delicious! My boyfriend and my roommate (both of whom have never had African food before) devoured it and are already asking me to make more. Thank you so much for this recipe! You definitely helped satisfy my craving for Ghanaian food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
When I lived in Africa, it was easier to use all fresh ingredients. Instead of canned tomatoes and chilies, use fresh to taste. This makes a much more intense and complex flavor. Also, instead of chicken, any kind of meat that is on hand can be used - beef, pork, ham, goat, lamb or even tofu. If you enjoy a bit of texture, use chunky peanut butter. This is an extremely versatile dish, so use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was excellent. I made a few modifications, though: I used the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste, I used 2- 15 1/2 oz cans of tomatoes with jalapenos and I used about 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 2 cups, I added a cubed yam and 1 1/2 green bell peppers. I also used 4 chicken breasts instead of 6. It was hearty and plentiful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Absolutely my favourite dish. Smothered over rice with as many condiments (shredded coconut, diced apple, chutney, orange slices, tomato slices, raisins, plantain chips etc) as possible. Fansastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
this recipe was ok, but the peanut butter taste was way too overpowering. If I make it again, I'd decrease the amount of peanut butter and maybe add more tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very simple and tasty dish. The peanut butter I used seemed a bit dry, so I did have to thin it out with some chicken broth. Liked it even better the second day. This would be good with a bit of curry powder also, giving it a Thai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy! We put green apple, raw onion and lettuce on top. I only used one and a half cups peanut butter and I think that was plenty. I also used the whole can of tomato paste and might even put in a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've never had African food, so I don't know what I was expecting. It was very tasty, but it was missing something. We just don't know what. We thought it was missing that "stewed all day long flavor." Next time, I'll cook the meat in the liquid, to see if that helps to mesh the flavors some more. Like I said, I've never tasted African cuisine, and I'm actually more accustomed to Asian flavors. This could be RIGHT ON for all in know. In any case, my family enjoyed it and my 7yr old twin boys said they'd eat it again...and THAT'S something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cortland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Was not blown away by this recipe - it sounded better than it came out. I followed the recipe plus some of the suggestions and found it to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States