Ground Nut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
this recipe was ok, but the peanut butter taste was way too overpowering. If I make it again, I'd decrease the amount of peanut butter and maybe add more tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I, too, was introduced to Ground Nut Stew by a friend who spent half his life as a missionary kid in West Africa. He taught me to serve this over rice, but with the addition of adding any kind of sqauash or yam to the stew itself, then providing plates of chopped lettuce, bananas, and tomatoes to add to each individual's plate. The raw stuff on top really makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I followed the recommendation about side toppings served with this stew and everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again for my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was excellent. I made a few modifications, though: I used the whole 6 oz can of tomato paste, I used 2- 15 1/2 oz cans of tomatoes with jalapenos and I used about 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 2 cups, I added a cubed yam and 1 1/2 green bell peppers. I also used 4 chicken breasts instead of 6. It was hearty and plentiful! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
When I lived in Africa, it was easier to use all fresh ingredients. Instead of canned tomatoes and chilies, use fresh to taste. This makes a much more intense and complex flavor. Also, instead of chicken, any kind of meat that is on hand can be used - beef, pork, ham, goat, lamb or even tofu. If you enjoy a bit of texture, use chunky peanut butter. This is an extremely versatile dish, so use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is an awesome recipe that can be easily adapted to whatever you have on hand or feel like eating. I added sweet potatoes (sliced about 1/4-inch-thick), okra and eggplant, all of which I sauteed and added to the stew before cooking the chicken. My husband and I both love it and it's going into our regular rotation; haven't tried it out on kids but I think if they like peanut butter it's worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I had my husband make this one night this week and it turned out fantastic! The only thing he altered was he put in a can of carrots (with the juice accidentally) and it turned out fantastic! Next time I think we will try it without the carrot juice to see if it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I spent a month in Ghana and fell in love with groundnut stew when I was there. I was so excited when I tasted the final product of this recipe because it was absolutely perfect! I added chopped onions and green peppers, and omitted the mushrooms. I also had to use extra chicken stock to thin it out. I served it over rice like they do in Ghana. And instead of using raw chicken breast, I bought a whole roasted chicken, carved it up and poured the stew over whole pieces of drumstick/thigh, and then shredded up the rest to add to the stew. Delicious! My boyfriend and my roommate (both of whom have never had African food before) devoured it and are already asking me to make more. Thank you so much for this recipe! You definitely helped satisfy my craving for Ghanaian food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faye
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great! But more like a soup instead of stew Maybe because I use natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Not bad, really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States