Ground Nut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is delicious! I don't know what it's supposed to taste like, but my family loved it. I added diced yam, plantain, and bell peppers. I didn't have tomato paste on hand, so in addition to extra diced tomatoes, I added a couple squirts of ketchup. The flavors were nice and melded after 24 hrs in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koofa
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My father is Ghanian and I ate this growing up. It's one of my favorite foods, though I don't make it often. To me this recipe tastes extremely close to the way he made it, the only thing I don't add are the mushrooms because he never made it that way. I kind of measure the ingredients myself to see what amount I feel I need, but I don't use anything else other than what's listed and some dashes of pepper and salt. I'm sure he added other things besides the ingredients listed in this recipe, but I was way too young to remember. I eat this served over rice but when I was young I ate it with Fufu (another African food - technically, it's pounded yam) - I would have a bowl of the stew and a plate with Fufu on it and I would dip little pieces of Fufu into the stew. I absolutely LOVE it that way, but I'm sure it's not quite as healthy. I don't remember if my dad made Fufu the traditional way, but I personally just use instant mashed potatoes and make them a bit thick - I know my dad adds corn starch to his recipe for consistency, but I've never done that. Great recipe! I always come to this one when I decide to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very simple and tasty dish. The peanut butter I used seemed a bit dry, so I did have to thin it out with some chicken broth. Liked it even better the second day. This would be good with a bit of curry powder also, giving it a Thai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yummy! We put green apple, raw onion and lettuce on top. I only used one and a half cups peanut butter and I think that was plenty. I also used the whole can of tomato paste and might even put in a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've never had African food, so I don't know what I was expecting. It was very tasty, but it was missing something. We just don't know what. We thought it was missing that "stewed all day long flavor." Next time, I'll cook the meat in the liquid, to see if that helps to mesh the flavors some more. Like I said, I've never tasted African cuisine, and I'm actually more accustomed to Asian flavors. This could be RIGHT ON for all in know. In any case, my family enjoyed it and my 7yr old twin boys said they'd eat it again...and THAT'S something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cortland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Absolutely my favourite dish. Smothered over rice with as many condiments (shredded coconut, diced apple, chutney, orange slices, tomato slices, raisins, plantain chips etc) as possible. Fansastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Was not blown away by this recipe - it sounded better than it came out. I followed the recipe plus some of the suggestions and found it to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Wonderful Recipe!! I cut the peanut butter in half and used the whole can of tomatoes. Also added some coriander, chopped garlic, chopped ginger and diced yams. I skipped the mushrooms and served it over rice. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again. I can't wait to dig into my leftovers! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe. Next time I will add an extra can of diced tomatoes, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I needed a sauce to go with gari (my husband brought back so much the last time he went home to Africa for a visit). This was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States