Ground Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
I was so glad to find this recipe. I have been looking for it for some time. This is a great tasting pie and is a real treat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
use 1/3 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizbeth25
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very Good. I have been needing a recipe to utilize the yield of my ground cherries. I cut the sugar back, made a pie crust with a criss-cross top, and added some lemon juice to give it some extra tartness. Makes an excellent presentation. I think the original crumb topping would be fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbeth25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
this recipe was outstanding! Taste was out of this world. Makes you crave those wonderful different tasting berries. I chopped the berries in the food processor before I put them in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was fantastic! Really interesting taste and easy to do (especially by cheating with a store-bought crust). This recipe is a keeper! There are only two difficulties: ground cherries are only available at our farmer's market occasionally, and it takes quite a lot of work to remove all those husks. But definitely worthwhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
I sure was happy to find a recipe for these neat little fruit. My neighbour gave me some plants and now i have tons but did not know what to do with them!! This pie was very good and i will plant more ground cherries next year just to make more pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHIRLEYLAMONTAGNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I received some ground cherries in my CSA box and had no clue what to do with them. All Recipes to the rescue! This recipe was AMAZING!! I can't wait to get more ground cherries, so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
You should just add about the amount of sugar you like to this recipe. And it turns out great. You can make it as sweet as you want. It is delicious and I was eating a piece of it at work the other day and all the guys were like "wow" will you make me some of that? So I'm making two pies tonight. I've used this recipe multiple times so far. It turns out great every time but I do use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
I bought these ground cherries in Mennonite country in Pennsylvania, while visiting my son. I was told they make a great pie, but I had no recipe. Luckily, thru "all recipes", I found this recipe. It was delicious. I might cut down on the sugar if I'm lucky enough to get any more of these ground cherries - but it was a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I purchased ground cherries at the near by Mennonite produce auction. I found this recipe and it was great.I used 4 cups of ground cherries for a larger pie. I did increase the flour in the pie. It was so easy and is sooooooo delicious. I did not increase the sugar. The cherries become more sweet when they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States