Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the corn starch. Came out great! The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is a really awesome recipe!! I added some tomato paste for flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This mix is great! I made it last night for my husband, brother-in-law, and I. We all loved it! I had taco seasoning packets at home but wanted to try to make my own. Tastes much better!! I added two teaspoons of fresh minced garlic because I didn't have dry. I also put in a few dashes of garlic powder. It tasted great. The crushed red peppers really bring it up a notch. Along with the cayenne pepper. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a great starting point for me when my son said, "mom, I want tacos." I chopped up shallots and garlic and cooked in a little homemade chicken stock. I added the beef and when browned I added the seasonings listed in the recipe (excluding salt, onion and garlic). Then to amp it up a bit I added fire roasted tomatoes and red kidney beans until the ratio looked good. I used chicken stock instead of water. When it cooked down I added fresh cilantro. I know in the end I changed the recipe a lot, but it was a much better base than the mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good flavor; we mixed in half a thinly sliced white onion and diced yellow, red, and green peppers while browning the meat, and used a little bit of salsa with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was skeptical, but the seasoning mix in this recipe really does taste a lot like a taco seasoning packet. I didn't have cornstarch, so instead of the water I used about half a can of tomato sauce. I added a little more salt than called for to counteract the sweetness of the tomato sauce. I let it simmer until it was thickened. I think I'm going to make my taco meat like this from now on. Oh, and I used turkey, and you couldn't tell it wasn't beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very tasty. I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and cut back on the water a bit. I found it a little bit spicy but my husband and daughter both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kar Hill
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe, much better than store bought seasoning, will keep this one on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I planned family taco night and didn't have a taco mix packet. My kids said it was better than the packet. I didn't have dried minced garlic. Instead of using fresh, I substituted with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Our family is kind of taco snobs and really detest packet seasonings. Everyone raved about this one! Very, very good, a keeper my hubby said. May want to reduce the peppers if cooking for kids, but perfect medium spice for an adult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States