Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a great starting point for me when my son said, "mom, I want tacos." I chopped up shallots and garlic and cooked in a little homemade chicken stock. I added the beef and when browned I added the seasonings listed in the recipe (excluding salt, onion and garlic). Then to amp it up a bit I added fire roasted tomatoes and red kidney beans until the ratio looked good. I used chicken stock instead of water. When it cooked down I added fresh cilantro. I know in the end I changed the recipe a lot, but it was a much better base than the mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good flavor; we mixed in half a thinly sliced white onion and diced yellow, red, and green peppers while browning the meat, and used a little bit of salsa with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I was skeptical, but the seasoning mix in this recipe really does taste a lot like a taco seasoning packet. I didn't have cornstarch, so instead of the water I used about half a can of tomato sauce. I added a little more salt than called for to counteract the sweetness of the tomato sauce. I let it simmer until it was thickened. I think I'm going to make my taco meat like this from now on. Oh, and I used turkey, and you couldn't tell it wasn't beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very tasty. I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and cut back on the water a bit. I found it a little bit spicy but my husband and daughter both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe, much better than store bought seasoning, will keep this one on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I planned family taco night and didn't have a taco mix packet. My kids said it was better than the packet. I didn't have dried minced garlic. Instead of using fresh, I substituted with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Our family is kind of taco snobs and really detest packet seasonings. Everyone raved about this one! Very, very good, a keeper my hubby said. May want to reduce the peppers if cooking for kids, but perfect medium spice for an adult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
It was mmm good! Sharing this with everyone I know. Homemade taco seasoning is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose2011

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great spice for tacos! Hell yes!! I will more than likely use this for other applications as well calling for a taco style seasoning mix. ** It was a bit on the spicy side, but not so hot that I didn't want more. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Just made it, Came out really good but I guess if there was a little bit more seasoning then mentioned on the recipe then it would have been much better, regardless i'll be using this recipe again Thank you_Zooey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States