Ground Beef and Sausage in Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used a variation of this recipe with a pound of uncooked kidney beans, ground turkey and turkey polska kielbasa. My family loved it, even my infant son. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
i realized at the last minute we didn't have some of the ingredients, instead of the beans we had black beans, chickpeas, and baked beans. Instead of the cayenne, I used a little chili powder, some garlic salt, and cumin. It came out GREAT (we served with corn bread for some down home food.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Heyford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I give this one five stars because my eleven-year-old asked for seconds and she *never* does that! Thanks for a great recipe that all my kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Great taste! However would add more spices; red pepper, pepper, salt, as was a little bland. I also used only red beans. Would make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This looked interesting. I made a lot less though, only 2 cups of uncooked rice, half a kielbasa and I just eyed the amount of ground beef I wanted to use. I still used about 1/4 cup onion, about a teaspoon of garlic and LOTS of cajun seasoning, which had cayenne pepper and other spices in it. Salt & pepper to taste. I used 1 can each of black beans and kidney beans. It still made PLENTY. I did add about 1/4 water and a little 'juice' from the black beans since other reviewers said it was dry. I'm glad I did. It was tasty and I think it will taste even better as leftovers. This was easy to modify to my taste, don't be afraid to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Great recipe ! It feed alot of people and taste great reheated .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I saute peppers onions celery with the ground beef and sausage added some cajun and vegetable seasoning and OMG it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This wasn't too bad. I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of ground sausage and made 3 cups of uncooked rice. I only added 1 can of black beans, some onions and 1 can of cream of onion soup with 1/2 can of milk. It was still a bit bland and hubby thought it was dry (it wasn't). So then I added some cumin and salt and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this the other night as we needed a good budget dinner for the fam. We all enjoyed it, but I did add some seasoning. I used a cajun seasoning mix, and added about 1/2TB. or maybe a little more. This might not be to everyone's taste, but I would definatly recommend some sort of added seasoning. Also, please cut WAY down on the rice, as that amount of raw will give you 3/4 GALLON of cooked rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States