Ground Beef and Sausage in Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This looked interesting. I made a lot less though, only 2 cups of uncooked rice, half a kielbasa and I just eyed the amount of ground beef I wanted to use. I still used about 1/4 cup onion, about a teaspoon of garlic and LOTS of cajun seasoning, which had cayenne pepper and other spices in it. Salt & pepper to taste. I used 1 can each of black beans and kidney beans. It still made PLENTY. I did add about 1/4 water and a little 'juice' from the black beans since other reviewers said it was dry. I'm glad I did. It was tasty and I think it will taste even better as leftovers. This was easy to modify to my taste, don't be afraid to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Not too shabby, even with making changes. Okay, 6 cups of *uncooked* rice just seems over the top a bit. Not to mention you'd need one heck of a big pot. Scaled that back to 2, but reasonably would have been good with 2.5 or 3. Used one can each of kidney and pinto beans, skipped the Pk&B, added corn and cheese. Top it with a little sour cream and you've got a hearty meal. A dash of cumin helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This receipe was tasty but too dry even after adding water to it. You can't add too much water as you will weaken the flavor. Had some left over for another meal so I added a can of beef gravy & 1/2 can of water and this is just what the doctor ordered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this the other night as we needed a good budget dinner for the fam. We all enjoyed it, but I did add some seasoning. I used a cajun seasoning mix, and added about 1/2TB. or maybe a little more. This might not be to everyone's taste, but I would definatly recommend some sort of added seasoning. Also, please cut WAY down on the rice, as that amount of raw will give you 3/4 GALLON of cooked rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
i realized at the last minute we didn't have some of the ingredients, instead of the beans we had black beans, chickpeas, and baked beans. Instead of the cayenne, I used a little chili powder, some garlic salt, and cumin. It came out GREAT (we served with corn bread for some down home food.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Heyford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I substituted hot Italian sausage w/ no ground beef and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The rice amount seems WAY off to me. But besides that I really did not like this. All I could taste was beans and it was really bland. This makes a HUGE amount of food that I feel was completely wasted. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
The taste of this was really good; however, I gave it 4 stars because it did get very dry. I think next time I will add a can of chicken broth. I also served it over the rice instead of mixing it all together. I will definately make this again. My whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe didn't turn out the way I expected it to. It was rather dry once it was done, and the taste wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I REALLY changed it up. Added ground sausage, ground beef, ground veal AND browned and prior slow cooked and tender beef tenderloin tips....Added 2 cans Goya tomato sauce. Worchestershire sauce. Garlic. Saute'd onions, celery, peppers and garlic, and simmered for about an hour til the flavours blended and sauce was nice consistency...made rice. Placed in dutch oven. Poured thi meat.bean mixture on top. Added a tiny amount mozzarella cheese on top and placed in warm oven. Tons of food. Good left overs. But definitely needed tweaking to punch it up. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States