Ground Beef and Sausage in Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I substituted hot Italian sausage w/ no ground beef and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This receipe was tasty but too dry even after adding water to it. You can't add too much water as you will weaken the flavor. Had some left over for another meal so I added a can of beef gravy & 1/2 can of water and this is just what the doctor ordered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used a variation of this recipe with a pound of uncooked kidney beans, ground turkey and turkey polska kielbasa. My family loved it, even my infant son. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe didn't turn out the way I expected it to. It was rather dry once it was done, and the taste wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This looked interesting. I made a lot less though, only 2 cups of uncooked rice, half a kielbasa and I just eyed the amount of ground beef I wanted to use. I still used about 1/4 cup onion, about a teaspoon of garlic and LOTS of cajun seasoning, which had cayenne pepper and other spices in it. Salt & pepper to taste. I used 1 can each of black beans and kidney beans. It still made PLENTY. I did add about 1/4 water and a little 'juice' from the black beans since other reviewers said it was dry. I'm glad I did. It was tasty and I think it will taste even better as leftovers. This was easy to modify to my taste, don't be afraid to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
The taste of this was really good; however, I gave it 4 stars because it did get very dry. I think next time I will add a can of chicken broth. I also served it over the rice instead of mixing it all together. I will definately make this again. My whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
i realized at the last minute we didn't have some of the ingredients, instead of the beans we had black beans, chickpeas, and baked beans. Instead of the cayenne, I used a little chili powder, some garlic salt, and cumin. It came out GREAT (we served with corn bread for some down home food.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Heyford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I give this one five stars because my eleven-year-old asked for seconds and she *never* does that! Thanks for a great recipe that all my kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made a lot less and instead of using kidney beans, and pinto beans, I used a can of mixed beans. I took the hint from other reviewers and added water and some more seasoning. This is a very healthy recipe and much enjoyed, especially leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Not too shabby, even with making changes. Okay, 6 cups of *uncooked* rice just seems over the top a bit. Not to mention you'd need one heck of a big pot. Scaled that back to 2, but reasonably would have been good with 2.5 or 3. Used one can each of kidney and pinto beans, skipped the Pk&B, added corn and cheese. Top it with a little sour cream and you've got a hearty meal. A dash of cumin helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States