Ground Beef and Sausage in Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I used vegetable broth to cook 1/2 the rice called for in and used ground turkey instead of beef. Used 1 can of black and one can of kidney beans and added corn. With a little cheese over the top, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
well i tried this recipie with twice the meat called for and only 4 cups of rice... tossed in some canned corn and peas and added a half cup of mustard. It made enough for the whole block! tasted good... looked terrible... we decided to call it two days before payday mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Clutter Laurence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The rice amount seems WAY off to me. But besides that I really did not like this. All I could taste was beans and it was really bland. This makes a HUGE amount of food that I feel was completely wasted. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I cut this in half and it still made way too much food. But the taste was good and I'll make it again - after I cut down the amounts some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The directions did not make sense. The end result was not too tasty. It "sounded good" which is why I tried to make it. It was a waste of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Great recipe ! It feed alot of people and taste great reheated .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Great taste! However would add more spices; red pepper, pepper, salt, as was a little bland. I also used only red beans. Would make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Not too shabby, even with making changes. Okay, 6 cups of *uncooked* rice just seems over the top a bit. Not to mention you'd need one heck of a big pot. Scaled that back to 2, but reasonably would have been good with 2.5 or 3. Used one can each of kidney and pinto beans, skipped the Pk&B, added corn and cheese. Top it with a little sour cream and you've got a hearty meal. A dash of cumin helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made a lot less and instead of using kidney beans, and pinto beans, I used a can of mixed beans. I took the hint from other reviewers and added water and some more seasoning. This is a very healthy recipe and much enjoyed, especially leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I give this one five stars because my eleven-year-old asked for seconds and she *never* does that! Thanks for a great recipe that all my kids loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States