Ground Beef and Sausage in Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was good, but definitely lacked something for me. The proportion seemed off on some of the ingredients. I added a cup of chicken broth because it turned out rather dry. Nice base recipe for someone to start with and embellish to their family's liking. I will make this again and try changing things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this the other night as we needed a good budget dinner for the fam. We all enjoyed it, but I did add some seasoning. I used a cajun seasoning mix, and added about 1/2TB. or maybe a little more. This might not be to everyone's taste, but I would definatly recommend some sort of added seasoning. Also, please cut WAY down on the rice, as that amount of raw will give you 3/4 GALLON of cooked rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This wasn't too bad. I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of ground sausage and made 3 cups of uncooked rice. I only added 1 can of black beans, some onions and 1 can of cream of onion soup with 1/2 can of milk. It was still a bit bland and hubby thought it was dry (it wasn't). So then I added some cumin and salt and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I will not do this recipe again. I was very dissapointed. I added chipolte tomatoes since reviews said it was dry. I also added 2 cans of water and chicken bullions to it. I also added 3 tbsp garlic minced. it is very filling but also very lacking in flavor. Now I have to figure out what to do with the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I've made this many times before but alot simpler. For instance, to cut down on preparation and cooking time, I simply brown some ground beef, cooked sausage and add it with some Zatarains Red beans and Rice Mix. It's never to dry or soupy because I only add a 1/2 pd of meat per box of rice mix. I'd make it with a side of hot buttered cornbread and it's a hit. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
very bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I saute peppers onions celery with the ground beef and sausage added some cajun and vegetable seasoning and OMG it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This receipe had too much rice. It didnt have enough flavor. We added some hot sauce and it was much better. The next time, I will cut back on the rice to bring out the flavor of the beans and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I REALLY changed it up. Added ground sausage, ground beef, ground veal AND browned and prior slow cooked and tender beef tenderloin tips....Added 2 cans Goya tomato sauce. Worchestershire sauce. Garlic. Saute'd onions, celery, peppers and garlic, and simmered for about an hour til the flavours blended and sauce was nice consistency...made rice. Placed in dutch oven. Poured thi meat.bean mixture on top. Added a tiny amount mozzarella cheese on top and placed in warm oven. Tons of food. Good left overs. But definitely needed tweaking to punch it up. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States