Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This dish tastes awesome, but you do have to make some changes. First of all, I cooked the rice in the rice cooker first and I decreased the amount of ground beef, and the cans of tomato soup. Lastly, I used regular cheddar instead of velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This recipe is just not right. Where do I start--First of all, it calls for a 1 qt baking dish. This is impossible considering it calls for 3 cans of soup which is almost a quart in itself. I made the recipe tonight and didn't find it anything special. There is way too much chili powder. Rice cannot be properly cooked using 1 cup water to 1 cup rice. There should be 2 cups of water. I feel I wasted food tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This does have a pretty nice taste to it. I made it for my husband and myself one Sunday night when we wanted something quick and tasty. We used ground turkey instead of beef and liked the way that turned out- however, I love cheese and I think next time I might ad twice as much. Just wasn't quite enough for me. Also, didn't fit in a 1 Qt casserole- I had to use my 2 Qt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed this with the personal adjustments. It's a great idea, which is why I gave it a shot. I have a rice cooker, so I cooked 2 c of rice. While the rice was cooking I sauted red onion (half salted)and garlic (3 cloves), then the lb of beef. I seasoned the beef with cajun & montreal steak seasoning. Instead of tom.soup I used 6oz Ragu and 5T of restaurant stlye salsa and eye-balled the chili powder. In place of the Velveta I used real colby/jack, american, and provolone. Then, yes and then I topped it off with French's french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Had to adjust some of the measurements. Used Sharp chedder cheese and added garlic powder. It was easy and my whole family LOVED it. Had leftovers last night and my husband calls from work today and says"I don't care what you girls eat for dinner tonight, but the rest og the beef and rice is mine." :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graciemoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
yum! i thought this came out really tasty! my boyfriend was afraid of it, but he ended up liking it too. i used ground turkey instead of beef. and also added some fried onions on top before i put it in the oven. i like the simple ingredients cause i had all of them on hand. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I adapted this a little differently by substituting a cup of salsa for one can of tomato sauce, and adding peppers and onions to the hamburger while cooking. Topped with taco cheese blend and crushed tortilla chips. My very picky 5 year old loved it, so it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was terrible! My family and I were trying out new recipes this month, and I saw that this had good ratings. So it sounded good... Its not! I my have put too much cheese on it or something, i dont know. It just was really creamy and cheesy to the point that you couldnt taste anything else. Velveeta is not my idea of a good snack to only taste the velveeta! Unless you want a VERY high calorie meal with nothing but cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was very good. I added more rice and only two cans of soup. I also added onions and garlic and used chedder instead of velveeta. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
this was a good base but I made some changes, added a diced medium onion, used 2 lbs hamburger, 4 cups cooked rice, and shredded cheese. I added some brown sugar to the tomato and beef mixture and not as much chili as called for. Used 3 cans of tomato soup. Kids liked it, will def make again, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonesjana78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelburn, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States