Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe was great with a few minor changes. First change the ratio of rice and water and double the amount of rice. 2 cups rice 4 cups water. Then I sauteed onion and garlic before adding the ground beef. I did 1 tbsp montreal steak spice and 2 tbsp chili powder. I did only 2 layers instead of three as I found I didn't have enough rice to do three layers even with doubling the rice. Overall I really liked this recipe it's quick, tasty and uses ingredients I always have on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
It wasn't very good, sorry I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 77-2Babinos
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a satisfying recipe. To please my family of 6 is quite a feat, but this simple recipe fit the bill. I made the following changes: First, I had to double the rice and beef, but it fits well in a deep 13x9 pan. Also, I only used 2 cans of tomato soup and added one can of Rotel Tomatoes, Mexican flavored with cilantro and lime. I omitted the chili powder. Also, instead of Velveeta, I used sharp cheddar. Very easy to make. My husband hates casseroles or anything that is a "one dish" meal, but he actually complimented this one! So, being desperate and using what I had on hand worked into a pleasing meal for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I adapted this a little differently by substituting a cup of salsa for one can of tomato sauce, and adding peppers and onions to the hamburger while cooking. Topped with taco cheese blend and crushed tortilla chips. My very picky 5 year old loved it, so it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsmom2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
easy and very good. added some black beans, and used different cheese. thinking leftovers would be good wrapped up in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Big hit at our house! I used regular cheddar chesse (I didnt have velveeta). YumYum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This recipe is an excellent base, which is what I generally look for in a recipe anyway. I doubled the rice, which should always be cooked in a 2:1 water rice ratio. So 4 cups of water to 2 cups of white basmati rice. Then I sauteed some diced onions and minced garlic, added the ground beef and seasoned the whole thing. This is very important. Even when a recipe doesn't ask tell you to season a meat ingredient DO IT ANYWAY. Seriously, you will be rewarded with a very flavorful results. The last changes I made were to use two cans of soup and two tbs of the chili powder. Everything else was cooked according to the recipe. Simple and delicious. Next time I'll add some red beans to the meat mixture and some sliced jalapeno peppers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digwriter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is very similar to a meatball recipe I have, but much easier. I used shredded colby/jack and added garlic, onion powder and pepper. It wasn't what I was hoping for after the first bite, but it definitely grew on me. The kids really liked it and we'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was a little nervous about the simplicity of this recipe but it was good. Major heartburn for both of us though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States