Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
this was a good recipe to start with, but like a lot of other people i felt it needed adjustments. I sauteed green pepper and onions which i cooked with the meat with and only a small amount of chili powder. i also used only 2 cans of tomato sauce and added one can of drained rotel. I mixed about half the velveeta with shredded cheddar. it turned out yummy but there was still too much liquid even with the reduction of soup. I suggest either adding more rice or using a lot less soup in the meat. it still got good reviews in my house though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe. I used brown rice, added sauteed onions and green peppers to the ground beef, and added grated cheddar cheese to the top. Next time I will omit Velveeta, and just use grated cheddar instead. I'd also add some frozen corn as well, but didn't have any on hand. Good base recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is pretty good. I have a similiar recipe that uses elbow macaroni instead of rice, which I prefer. I used only two cans of soup and cheddar cheese. I think I'll stick with the macaroni version - but this is good, fast & easy if you like rice. Otherwise, try it with the macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is a good basic recipe for nights when you want to make a tasty wholesome meal but don't want to do a lot of work. To make it gluten free, I took the hints of other reviewers and subbed spaghetti sauce for the tomato soup and real cheddar for the processed cheese. Also, the rice directions were incorrect as someone else pointed out - it's always 1 part rice to 2 parts water. Don't let the servings rating fool you - as directed, this makes way more than 4 servings (and thus a lot less calories & fat per serving). Our family of four ate good sized helpings and only ate half of the casserole dish, leaving leftovers for tomorrow nite. Served sweet corn and salad sides and it was a hit with everyone, even picky son (the gluten-free one)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I added jalapeno's, diced tomatoes, and used whatever cheese I had in the fridge..... This actually turned out really good. I was very sceptical of it, but it was the only recipe I could find that I had all the ingredients for at the time. When I was on step #3 I tasted it and was not impressed.... but once it was all together and came out of the oven it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe was great with a few minor changes. First change the ratio of rice and water and double the amount of rice. 2 cups rice 4 cups water. Then I sauteed onion and garlic before adding the ground beef. I did 1 tbsp montreal steak spice and 2 tbsp chili powder. I did only 2 layers instead of three as I found I didn't have enough rice to do three layers even with doubling the rice. Overall I really liked this recipe it's quick, tasty and uses ingredients I always have on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
It wasn't very good, sorry I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 77-2Babinos
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a satisfying recipe. To please my family of 6 is quite a feat, but this simple recipe fit the bill. I made the following changes: First, I had to double the rice and beef, but it fits well in a deep 13x9 pan. Also, I only used 2 cans of tomato soup and added one can of Rotel Tomatoes, Mexican flavored with cilantro and lime. I omitted the chili powder. Also, instead of Velveeta, I used sharp cheddar. Very easy to make. My husband hates casseroles or anything that is a "one dish" meal, but he actually complimented this one! So, being desperate and using what I had on hand worked into a pleasing meal for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I adapted this a little differently by substituting a cup of salsa for one can of tomato sauce, and adding peppers and onions to the hamburger while cooking. Topped with taco cheese blend and crushed tortilla chips. My very picky 5 year old loved it, so it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomsmom2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States