Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was not impressed by this recipe but my family of 6 loved it. Second time I made it I sautéed some garlic and onions before added some chorizo let it cook a few minutes then added the ground beef. I also sub'd the velveeta for Monterey jack. This time I liked it a bit. My family loved it even more. This is a great base to add your little twist. This one stays in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe. I added some onion and green pepper when I browned hamburger. I also added some corn. I topped with mashed potatoes then topped with chesse. served corn bread with it. turned out really good. comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I really liked this! Easy to make and really tasty! I used only 2.5 tablespoons of the chili powder and added diced green peppers for some crunch! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was good, but I used this as a starting point to a red beans and rice recipe and added some things to it. I wanted to add some vegetables so I sautéed mushrooms, onions, garlic and red peppers then added the beef. Then I added 1 can of rinsed red kidney beans and some leftover corn I had in the fridge. I only used 1 can of tomato soup but I added club house roasted garlic and red pepper sauce to it along with chipotle seasoning and black pepper. Topped it with and aged Canadian cheddar. My 7 year old wanted to bring the leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale-Ann Ernewein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This dish is tasty but with some changes. Velvetta cheese tastes terrible. I used cheddar cheese instead, I also added a little but more rice but I used Basmati rice as the flavor and texture is much better. Also, I left out the tomato sauce completely and created my own sauce in place of it which is a mixture of butter, milk, and garlic and a little bit of flour. I gave this a 4 only because I liked when I made these changes. I would have hated it if I had tried the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Came out good as a middle of the week meal. Added onion & garlic to hamburger plus salt & pepper. Next time I'll use tomato sauce instead of tomato soup. Too sweet. Also used cheddar cheese & minute rice. 4 cups of rice would have worked better. Didn't have enough for last layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved it. Here are the changes that I made. Browned and onion and 2 cloves of garlic along with the beef. used one can of the soup, one can of stewed tomatoes and 1 cup of salsa. Change chili seasoning for Cumim. Used regular sharp cheddar cheese. Made only 2 layers. Served with corn chip scoops. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Bland, not a hit in our house at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used this recipe, as suggested by AR-Seattle, and changed out the ground beef for Johnsonville spicey Italian sausage to complete one of my AR Ambassador's monthly tasks. Since I used Italian sausage, I changed out the chili powder to 1 tbsp ground basil and the Velveeta cheese slices to 8 ozs. grated mozzarella. Based on the other reviews, I used only two cans of Campbell's tomato soup and 1/2 cup water. While I was very skeptical of this recipe, it really was tasty. It kind of "grew" on me as I ate. My husband said that he wouldn't mind having it again. We'll see. Change out the spicey to mild Italian sausage and this would be a good kid-friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The basics of the recipe are good, but I feel it needs some zip and zing. I used a 2 qt 8x8 dish and it was filled completely, so I think a 1 qt dish would be too small. I used shredded cheese instead of Velveeta. Also, you could probably do with one or two cans of soup instead of three, and perhaps more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States