Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I did add one can of dark red kidney beans (drained) and one can of great northern beans (drained) to make it taste like a chili casserole. It does make much more than to fill a 1 quart dish so I used my 2 & 1/2 quart dish. I also used boil in a bag rice and it was easier! If your husband or man loves traditional homemade meals, this is the way to his heart! Mine asks for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used long grain rice and it was horrible, tough, pellets! Use minute rice. I tried to salvage the recipe by using a Progresso tomato soup which has more moisture than a condensed soup but the rice was still though after another 30 minutes. After using another can of Progresso soup, and more time on the stovetop, it was edible but not great. Perhaps it would be better with minute rice but I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
yes i try it and it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Edible. Way too much chili powder. Using the left overs on spaghetti tomorrow. Will report back. Seems like it will work well on spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was not impressed by this recipe but my family of 6 loved it. Second time I made it I sautéed some garlic and onions before added some chorizo let it cook a few minutes then added the ground beef. I also sub'd the velveeta for Monterey jack. This time I liked it a bit. My family loved it even more. This is a great base to add your little twist. This one stays in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe. I added some onion and green pepper when I browned hamburger. I also added some corn. I topped with mashed potatoes then topped with chesse. served corn bread with it. turned out really good. comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I really liked this! Easy to make and really tasty! I used only 2.5 tablespoons of the chili powder and added diced green peppers for some crunch! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was good, but I used this as a starting point to a red beans and rice recipe and added some things to it. I wanted to add some vegetables so I sautéed mushrooms, onions, garlic and red peppers then added the beef. Then I added 1 can of rinsed red kidney beans and some leftover corn I had in the fridge. I only used 1 can of tomato soup but I added club house roasted garlic and red pepper sauce to it along with chipotle seasoning and black pepper. Topped it with and aged Canadian cheddar. My 7 year old wanted to bring the leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale-Ann Ernewein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This dish is tasty but with some changes. Velvetta cheese tastes terrible. I used cheddar cheese instead, I also added a little but more rice but I used Basmati rice as the flavor and texture is much better. Also, I left out the tomato sauce completely and created my own sauce in place of it which is a mixture of butter, milk, and garlic and a little bit of flour. I gave this a 4 only because I liked when I made these changes. I would have hated it if I had tried the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Came out good as a middle of the week meal. Added onion & garlic to hamburger plus salt & pepper. Next time I'll use tomato sauce instead of tomato soup. Too sweet. Also used cheddar cheese & minute rice. 4 cups of rice would have worked better. Didn't have enough for last layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States