Ground Beef and Rice with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kiki7496
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I decreased the meat and tomato soup. I added condensed cheese sauce, zucchini and fresh tomatoes. When browning meat I added minced garlic and onions. The original recipe was a great base to work from. As a home health caregiver being creative with limited supplies makes for a CHOPPED type of meal prepping. I will be using this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very good. I mixed the rice with Ground Beef then cheese Same with 2nd layer. I used some cayenne pepper and cumin I also saute some green peppers and onion, then put in minced garlic (from a jar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Easy to make and easy to make healthier too. I also made a lot. I used 2 lbs of local ground beef because it's what I had defrosted. Instead of white rice, I made 2 cups of organic brown jasmine rice and 1 cup of Black Beluga lentils. I mixed them together after cooking (there was a little leftover after recipe). With the meat, I used organic roasted red pepper and tomato soup (almost a whole 32 oz box container). I added tomato paste to thicken it. I also added black beans for power protein etc. I upped the spice a bit, also adding cumin, cayenne, and Celtic sea salt. I also replaced the processed cheese with real cheddar slices. Again, this made a lot so I put it in a large, rectangular baking dish. I basically made four layers, not including the cheese layers. I'm going to add a bit more cheddar slices to the middle next time. This is fabulous and I know it's going to be great for leftovers and don't have to feel guilty eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
We thought it was awesome...really tasty and so easy to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
What a lot of people don't realize about this recipe is casseroles themselves have to be individually tailored to ones palate. I omitted the 2nd can of soup, subbed another can for a cup Pace salsa (as a few others have), cooked the rice halfway on the stove - PROPERLY DONE (2:1 water/rice) - and mixed it all in my crockpot instead with a packet of Enchilada sauce mix - Low for a few hours - and topped with cheese per serving, not the actual mix itself. Turned out perfectly AND was awesome in tortillas the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this for the http://6ingredientsorless.johnsonville.com/ Johnsonville Sausage 6 Ingredients or Less challenge so replaced the beef with mild Italian sausage. I cooked 1 cup brown rice with 2 cups water, and used only 2 cans of soup and 1 TBS chili powder (since the sausage had seasoning already). This was very tasty!! We liked it a lot - quick and easy. I used a 2-qt baking dish and layered twice, putting 4 slices of cheese on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a winner! I used a bag of boca meat, and I used whole grain rice. The dish I used was approx. 8x7 so I put all the rice down first then the meat mixture. (also added chopped garlic) Then a whole bag of shredded cheddar. The husband loved it. His seconds were in a bowl with a bag of tortilla chips for dipping! Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by famof5
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added bacon to the layers and I added bar b que sauce to tomato sauce instead of tomato soup and it turned our great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I did add one can of dark red kidney beans (drained) and one can of great northern beans (drained) to make it taste like a chili casserole. It does make much more than to fill a 1 quart dish so I used my 2 & 1/2 quart dish. I also used boil in a bag rice and it was easier! If your husband or man loves traditional homemade meals, this is the way to his heart! Mine asks for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used long grain rice and it was horrible, tough, pellets! Use minute rice. I tried to salvage the recipe by using a Progresso tomato soup which has more moisture than a condensed soup but the rice was still though after another 30 minutes. After using another can of Progresso soup, and more time on the stovetop, it was edible but not great. Perhaps it would be better with minute rice but I won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States