Ground Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
When I saw the ingredients to this recipe, I had to try it. My husband and I both enjoyed it. We both thought it needed "something" to add to the flavor. Maybe sausage or smoked sausage. Not sure. Even though there seemed to be something lacking, we both want to have it again. I may try the sausage next time. Maybe 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 sausage. I did cheat and brown the meat partially before adding so that I could control the amount of grease going into it. I also took the advice of those before me and added a can of stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This recipe, with my substitution of Johnsonville mild Italian sausage, rocked it! Not only was it delish, but it was fast and SUPER EASY!!! I did use two cans of diced tomatoes as others suggested. My kids rolled it up in a flour tortilla, but the hubs and I ate it from a bowl and knew the calories would be minimal without the carbs. Will I make this again? Absofreakinlutely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I went about this just a bit differently, I replaced the ground beef with Johnsonville fresh hot Italian sausage, which I removed from the casing. I browned the sausage and onion then added the Italian seasoning, 3 minced cloves of garlic, and my coarsely chopped cabbage. I cooked and stirred until the cabbage wilted then added the tomatoes and continued to cook until the tomatoes were heated through. I served this on a bed of wide egg noodles with a green salad and homemade biscuits. We like it, but the leftovers, which we had for lunch were really good. I believe the next time I will make it far enough in advance so I can refrigerate it to meld the flavors. Mr. Graham, I hope you like the liberties I took with your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by D.G. Says
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used sliced Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage in place of ground beef for this recipe and was VERY impressed with the results! The flavors were amazing! (Gently fold instead of stir to keep the sausage slices intact.) I had just gotten back from a vacation in a small Bavarian town in Washington State and this recipe brought me right back! AND it was super simple to make! I served it with organic brown rice and topped it with some chives. The whole family, including the two year old, loved it! We will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.G. Says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Like most people I added a second can of diced tomatoes. It was simple to make and delicious. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I'm at month's end (I get paid once a month and there usually isn't a lot of $$ left by the last week of the month) and this was nice and inexpensive--and very tasty! I prepared it just as directed. And I have leftovers for lunch/dinner for the next few days too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I found this while looking for something to do with a cabbage and ground beef I had on hand and I can't believe how delicious this came out and yet so easy to put together and, all in one pot! Thank you mtgrapham2! Husband loved it and said "this is really tasty". My minor changes after reading the reviews: I had chuck beef so I browned and drained the meat, (but if I use sirloin I won't have to) and set the meat aside, saute the onion till translucent, add the chopped garlic and then the cabbage and stir fried all together for a few minutes. I then added the Italian seasonings PLUS a big pinch of red pepper flakes, AND a teaspoon of worcestershire sauce, and then poured in a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings (garlic/basil/oregano), AND a 8 oz can of tomato sauce PLUS a half teaspoon of sugar. Stirred, covered and reduced heat to simmer for about 40 mins, turned off and left for 10 mins. I served with rice. Perfect amount of juice and a crunchy vegetable. This is SO delicious and filling too and great for a hearty dinner. I can see how variations on this simple meal will use up what ever I have on hand also. Was just as good next day. Only criticism is this needed a better photo - I should have taken one but we ate it all ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Super love this recipe. I could not believe my super picky son love this dish. He doesn't like tomatoes and he is picky in eating vegetables. But he liked it so much that he ate a lot of it. He put it in a soft taco and roll. I have no tomatoes in can available so I used Ragu because I happen to have it. I also added garlic powder, cayenne pepper and chili powder because I have no Italian seasoning available. My ground beef has more fats so I decided to brown and drain the fats. This recipe is very easy to make, and very affordable and healthy meal. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love stuffed cabbage rolls and thought this might be good, from a taste point of view as well as low-carb. Figured I couldn't go wrong when so many others rated it highly. Used 2 cans of tomatoes, added mushrooms and did it in the crockpot. Ate one spoonful, grabbed more spice and sour cream to make it somewhat palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Perfect as is! We always serve it with cornbread. SO GOOD together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States