Ground Beef Yorkshire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I think the problem some people had with rising was because I was taught to use a metal baking pan for yorkshire puds, preferably cast iron for the heat retention; and it has to be hot, hot, hot before you add the batter. Also, if you don't drain the fat from the meat and use that instead of adding butter to the batter you will get a more meaty flavor. I sauteed my veggies til they were almost soft, then browned the meat in my cast iron frying pan, then popped the pan into the oven until it was good and hot before I added the batter. My Yorkie rose so high it almost crawled out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Well first of all, it tasted great, but I did things a little different. First of all I cooked the beef first because usually when you make yorkshire you are supposed to bake right away, never set aside batter! I sauteed beef, onions, celery, and carrots. Added to it about 2 tbsp each HP sauce and Tony Romas Bold n spicy bbq sauce, Also about 1 tbsp beef oxo. When ready I whipped together the yorkshire mix, with a wisk (not a mixer) and layered the beef and pudding mix in a large rectangle pyrex, this way the yorkshire isn't burning on top and runny in the middle, or sunken into the beef. It actually nicely coated around the beef mix like a quiche almost, and the top had about 10 little peaks of golden brown yorkshire. Something is still off a bit, and there should be more rising done, but overall, the family was satisfied with the taste and texture, done this way. Next time I think I'll add corn too, it is kind of like sheperds pie when you have no potatoes in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My husband loved this! Loved it! I made it using my extra large iron skillet and the Yorkshire mixture rose as expected - it was beautiful! I did add two tablespoons of our favorite BBQ sauce (honey mesquite) which enhanced the flavor a lot. This one is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dupont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I added 1 cup beef broth and 1/2 can of diced tomatoes and 1/2 cup diced onions and 2 garlic cloves grated. I saute'ed the onion and garlic, then added ground beef and browned the meat , then added Worcestershire sauce and Steak sauce, also salt and pepper. I then added tomatoes, carrots and celery, and beef broth and then simmered until all the liquid had reduced down. I then prepared the Yorkshire pudding mixture according to the recipe. Then I put the meat mixture in a metal baking pan that had been heated in the oven before. I packed the meat tightly together and flattened it, then poured Yorkshire pudding mixture on top and baked for 55 minutes in oven. The Yorkshire pudding rose but did fall down when it came out of the oven, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jskcmoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Easy to make but definitely needs more flavor. Perhaps if one were to increase the amount of steak sauce and Worcestershire sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good recipe for Yorkshire but found the beef mixture bland. Try adding 1/ 2 of a pkg of Onion soup mix to your favorite gravy mixture then the mixture of beef and make it a gravy...always nice to pour over the yorkies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoansKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. So did my 1 year old and ten year old. I added mushrooms to it and sprinkled a little more a1 sauce after we sat down to eat. It does seem more like a quiche but I'm not sure what the difference is supposed to be. Either way, I like the carrots and think that next time I'll add some peas or green beans and maybe some green pepper. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menotcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Would be good with pepperoni, pizza sauce and any other pizza toppings that you like. That's just what I think but good recipe as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The taste is good but the pudding mixture just sank into the ground beef and did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Just made this for the first time (and probably the last) for dinner tonight. I increased the onion and celery and added some Montreal Steak Seasonings to the ground beef mixture. The taste wasn't too bad but the texture was awful. The topping did not rise "tall" like the recipe said. It sank into the meat and made it kind of quiche like. BTW, I dind't open the oven door while it was cooking so that wasn't the problem. Not worth the effort or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States