Ground Beef Yorkshire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The taste is good but the pudding mixture just sank into the ground beef and did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Easy to make but definitely needs more flavor. Perhaps if one were to increase the amount of steak sauce and Worcestershire sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
A hearty dish to make with things you have on hand, more s&p recommended. Don't open the oven door to peek and topping will not drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Just made this for the first time (and probably the last) for dinner tonight. I increased the onion and celery and added some Montreal Steak Seasonings to the ground beef mixture. The taste wasn't too bad but the texture was awful. The topping did not rise "tall" like the recipe said. It sank into the meat and made it kind of quiche like. BTW, I dind't open the oven door while it was cooking so that wasn't the problem. Not worth the effort or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Did not open oven door, but top still didn't raise. It just sunk down into the meat mixture, and kind of ended up tasting a little "eggy". I agree that the steak sauce could have been increased, although the flavor of the meat mixture was good. I put my celery & carrots in with the burger & onions while browning to start them cooking. I was afraid 45 minutes in oven would not cook them fully. I was right, even with the precooking, they were still a little underdone. Overall not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Well first of all, it tasted great, but I did things a little different. First of all I cooked the beef first because usually when you make yorkshire you are supposed to bake right away, never set aside batter! I sauteed beef, onions, celery, and carrots. Added to it about 2 tbsp each HP sauce and Tony Romas Bold n spicy bbq sauce, Also about 1 tbsp beef oxo. When ready I whipped together the yorkshire mix, with a wisk (not a mixer) and layered the beef and pudding mix in a large rectangle pyrex, this way the yorkshire isn't burning on top and runny in the middle, or sunken into the beef. It actually nicely coated around the beef mix like a quiche almost, and the top had about 10 little peaks of golden brown yorkshire. Something is still off a bit, and there should be more rising done, but overall, the family was satisfied with the taste and texture, done this way. Next time I think I'll add corn too, it is kind of like sheperds pie when you have no potatoes in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. So did my 1 year old and ten year old. I added mushrooms to it and sprinkled a little more a1 sauce after we sat down to eat. It does seem more like a quiche but I'm not sure what the difference is supposed to be. Either way, I like the carrots and think that next time I'll add some peas or green beans and maybe some green pepper. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menotcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good recipe for Yorkshire but found the beef mixture bland. Try adding 1/ 2 of a pkg of Onion soup mix to your favorite gravy mixture then the mixture of beef and make it a gravy...always nice to pour over the yorkies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoansKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I think the problem some people had with rising was because I was taught to use a metal baking pan for yorkshire puds, preferably cast iron for the heat retention; and it has to be hot, hot, hot before you add the batter. Also, if you don't drain the fat from the meat and use that instead of adding butter to the batter you will get a more meaty flavor. I sauteed my veggies til they were almost soft, then browned the meat in my cast iron frying pan, then popped the pan into the oven until it was good and hot before I added the batter. My Yorkie rose so high it almost crawled out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Loved this! Big hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States