Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this for dinner last night. It is a very simple recipe and it's delicious! I didn't have any fennel so I just added a bit more onion. We prefer the flavor of onion anyway. As others have mentioned, I felt that if I made two large ones as suggested in the recipe that it would end up with the crust burned and the inside uncooked. So I took the suggestion of some other reviewers and made four smaller ones. They came out perfect! I was afraid that the grease from the ground beef would make the dough slimy and soggy but it didn't all! I was actually surprised to see that the grease snuck out through the perforations in the pastry dough leaving the dough nice and flaky and the inside still juicy without being overly greasy. We served this with brown gravy. My husband and I both loved it. This is definitely going into our rotation for weeknight meals. It is easy, quick, and very tasty. I will have to find some fennel and try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by truejediknitter
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My husband & my 11yr old gave it a perfect 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
It was good. I would shape it more like a sausage roll next time. I made 4 pockets with puff pastry. And the meat to pastry ratio was a little off. But the filling was great. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Made a roll recipe for the dough. Used tons of dried fennel, since had no fresh. Was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Perfect recipe for something different with ground beef. I used dried onions and extra fennel seed because I didn't have fennel. I topped it with warm brown gravy. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was delicious however I made smaller meatballs and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I was doubtful that two kinds of fennel would work and I found it didn't. I made this tonight and 2/3 of us gave it a thumbs down. 350 for 30 minutes is too high for the pastry and 30 min not enough to cook the ground beef--I had dark brown pastry & some raw ground beef. The pastry worked well and sealed fine despite the perforated holes in the dough, so i liked that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Served with a spicy tomato cream cheese sauce, fantastic! Next time will try with a mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriSuchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Made this recipe yesterday and served it with a Bearnaise sauce and oh my goodness...it was amazing! My whole family loved it!!! My husband puts ketchup on everything and he didn't even get it out of the refrigerator. This recipe is definately a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Charlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Cooking with FEnnel was fun! It was my first time cooking with FEnnel. This was very flavorful. I would like to use this as my "go to" meatball recipe. This is a Meatball in a pastry.. it's not the good 'ol Beef Wellington. This recipe needs a different name. Beef Wellingtons use mushrooms and pate and whole cuts of beef.. so this recipe is not close to "beef wellington".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States