Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Debra Pegnataro
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I actually made this different.. Made a meatloaf Wellington instead of burger, same concept as the burger and it was delicious!! Thank you for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Pegnataro
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Great recipe. Followed recipe exactly. Was afraid the cresent pastry was going to burn Before meat cooked but it came out perfectly. Served with. Tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
My husband and I LOVED this!! And it was so easy. Like others, I did not have fresh fennel, but I will the next time. I made everything exactly as listed but I made a mushroom sauce instead of using tomato sauce (which I found with another beef wellington recipe). It was wonderful and I will use it again - but my husband and I love mushrooms! Mushroom sauce (if you want it): 1/2 cup fresh chopped mushrooms. 1 TLB butter. 2 tsp flour. 1/8 tsp pepper. 1/2 Cup half-n-half cream. Saute mushrooms until softened. Add in flour and pepper and slowly bring to boil. Boil and stir about 2 minutes until thickened. (you could triple this recipe if you like sauce!) I served with a fresh vegetable. This was delicious and will be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow! Yummy, keeper! I adjusted the recipe slightly. My Fennel seeds were past the expiration date so they were omitted and I used puff pastry. I served this with mashed red-skinned potatoes, broccoli spears and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made this dish per the recipe. I knew that it would not even approximate real beef Wellington but I was looking for interesting ways to prepare ground beef. I also really liked that this recipe called for fennel. I wanted this to be good but it was bland ground beef wrapped in pastry that was pretty soggy. My family tried to eat it but we all had to admit that it just was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this for dinner last night. It is a very simple recipe and it's delicious! I didn't have any fennel so I just added a bit more onion. We prefer the flavor of onion anyway. As others have mentioned, I felt that if I made two large ones as suggested in the recipe that it would end up with the crust burned and the inside uncooked. So I took the suggestion of some other reviewers and made four smaller ones. They came out perfect! I was afraid that the grease from the ground beef would make the dough slimy and soggy but it didn't all! I was actually surprised to see that the grease snuck out through the perforations in the pastry dough leaving the dough nice and flaky and the inside still juicy without being overly greasy. We served this with brown gravy. My husband and I both loved it. This is definitely going into our rotation for weeknight meals. It is easy, quick, and very tasty. I will have to find some fennel and try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by truejediknitter
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My husband & my 11yr old gave it a perfect 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
It was good. I would shape it more like a sausage roll next time. I made 4 pockets with puff pastry. And the meat to pastry ratio was a little off. But the filling was great. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Made a roll recipe for the dough. Used tons of dried fennel, since had no fresh. Was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Perfect recipe for something different with ground beef. I used dried onions and extra fennel seed because I didn't have fennel. I topped it with warm brown gravy. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States