Ground Beef 'Wellington' with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was delicious however I made smaller meatballs and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I was doubtful that two kinds of fennel would work and I found it didn't. I made this tonight and 2/3 of us gave it a thumbs down. 350 for 30 minutes is too high for the pastry and 30 min not enough to cook the ground beef--I had dark brown pastry & some raw ground beef. The pastry worked well and sealed fine despite the perforated holes in the dough, so i liked that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Served with a spicy tomato cream cheese sauce, fantastic! Next time will try with a mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Made this recipe yesterday and served it with a Bearnaise sauce and oh my goodness...it was amazing! My whole family loved it!!! My husband puts ketchup on everything and he didn't even get it out of the refrigerator. This recipe is definately a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Charlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Cooking with FEnnel was fun! It was my first time cooking with FEnnel. This was very flavorful. I would like to use this as my "go to" meatball recipe. This is a Meatball in a pastry.. it's not the good 'ol Beef Wellington. This recipe needs a different name. Beef Wellingtons use mushrooms and pate and whole cuts of beef.. so this recipe is not close to "beef wellington".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was so good. I was a little nervous about making this because I had never used or tried Fennel before but I have to say that everyone in my house loved it. My son who loves to complain about food ate every bite and my boyfried said we need to make this again. Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family really liked the flavors in the meat. I did not have enough time to cook the meat into small meatloaves, so I cooked this as a crumble in a skillet, then added some butter, flour and milk after the meat was cooked to make a gravy, and served it over 10 minute brown rice with a green vegetable. Very good and quick for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great recipe! Ok I always laugh at the reviewer who review a recipe and then change it in their review. But here I go. The market did not have fennel and my pantry was out of fennel seeds. I used a teaspoon of tarragon instead. To get some veggies into my husband's diet I added chopped 1/2 cup orange bell peppers, 1/4 thinly sliced celery and 5 chopped baby bell mushrooms to the onions and garlic mix. This was so yummy. Husband was happy and said this ranks high in his list. This recipe is very versatile, I think they are lots of ways to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was great. Easy meal the whole family will love. I really liked the fennel taste, although I didn't have any fresh, so I just chopped up extra seed. I was looking for a meal I could make with a bunch of left over ground beef I had used the day before to make tacos. So, my beef was already cooked, but it was still delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and my family thought it was plain. We tend to like highly seasoned dishes and a lot of asian flavors. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States