Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This has to be the best Stroganoff on earth. I did add 1 can cream of mushroom an upped the sour cream to 3/4 and the mayo down to a 1/4. This is so fast and simple to make let alone awesome. This is a must try! Thanks for this one it will definitely get used and passed on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
i don't understand the negative reviews here. obviously, this is not a gourmet recipe. but it is quick and filling comfort food that also happens to taste great, and is very easy to modify a bit here and there to suit your tastes. after i browned the beef, i rinsed it once to help eliminate grease. i browned the onions and mushrooms separately in a little butter, and i think that helped the flavor a lot. i increased the garlic powder a bit, and added a few dashes of dried dill. i decreased the mayo and increased the sour cream. also added just a bit of worchestershire sauce. although it doesn't look too spectacular, it tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
With a splash of worchesteshire, 12 oz. of sour cream, and less mayo...this recipe is very good. (It can get tangy if you use Miracle whip. I used Hellman's). I didn't think it was bland at all. It tasted exactly like I expected stroganoff to taste, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was yummy! I omitted the beef broth and used condensed cream of mushroom soup instead of just mushrooms. (I like my stroganoff thick!) I also added extra garlic powder and some basil. We ate leftovers for lunch the next day! Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierramae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Apart from using fresh mushrooms, I made this as the recipe stated, and it was thin, bland and watery. So, I added a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup, some more garlic powder, lots of black pepper, several good sloshes of Worcestershire sauce, and a little more mustard powder. The result was much better! This is a great basic recipe, but it *does* need some modification. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Added add'l sour cream, lots of salt and pepper and dried parsley (to taste), which flavored the dish wonderfully without overpowering it. A great trick: since you only need 1/2 cup of beef broth, use the rest of the can in the water you boil the noodles in to add extra flavor - I ONLY USED 6 OZ EGG NOODLES - PERFECT AMOUNT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Glad I checked previous reviews first so I knew what I was expecting. Bland, thin sauce and not enough of it. I added about 1T. worcestshire sauce, 1 T. vermouth,1t.yellow mustard, a few shakes of paprika, s&p, more sour cream and about 3/4 can of crm of mushroom soup.MMMMM now that's a ground beef stroganoff I can serve my husband and 18yr. old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
YUMMY! The whole family loved this recipe. I used 1 1/2lbs of ground beef, so I just increased the sour cream and the mayo to make more sauce. My kids HATE mushrooms, so I just chopped them up really fine, and put them in with the ground beef, and they never even knew that they were in there. Easy, fast and CHEAP. Bet this meal didn't even cost $2.00 per person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Used the recipe and added a little extra sour cream. I found it to be excellent and my wife has asked to add this to the monthly menu list. Definitely a keeper. Not fancy, just plain good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
The beef stroganoff was good but the sauce could have packed a little more kick. Still, hubby loved it & that's good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States