Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe is quick and very tasty. I've made it twice now and used some of the other reviewer suggestions. I used 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 light mayo, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, increased the beef broth to 1 cup, increased the dry mustard to 1 tsp and added some worcestershire sauce. I left out the mushrooms because my girls probably wouldnt eat this with them. I cooked a 12oz bag of whole wheat egg noodles and added it right to the sauce! Thumbs up from my 3 little girls and my husband. Definitely will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We really like this recipe. I have made it several times, and it's always a hit. I use about a Tsp (or more) of Dijon mustard instead of the mustard powder, and I also use beefy mushroom soup instead of the beef broth. This is an easy recipe to play around with and alter based on what you have on hand, or personal preference. I have used onion powder or dried minced onion in the place of the chopped onion and minced garlic in the place of the garlic powder...it always comes out good. Not fancy, but a good, quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Quick, easy, delicious! Did not have mustard powder, so I just omitted it. Husband loved it - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I thought it was an ok recipe although I ommitted the mayo and mushrooms, browned the beef in a large pan, drained fat, drained the beef further on paper towel (It was 85%) sauteed onion and 1clove minced garlic in butter in large pan. In a separate saucepan, made a white sauce with 2T. butter melted, whisked in 2T. flour until smooth and bubbly, then whisked in 1c. beef stock and 1c. milk, brought to simmer over med high heat. Once thickened I added it to the sauteed onion, garlic, browned beef. Also added 1/4 t. tarragon, 1T. Worchestershire, salt and pepper with 3/4c. sour cream--heat through, served over egg noodles. Kids and Hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
YUMMY! The whole family loved this recipe. I used 1 1/2lbs of ground beef, so I just increased the sour cream and the mayo to make more sauce. My kids HATE mushrooms, so I just chopped them up really fine, and put them in with the ground beef, and they never even knew that they were in there. Easy, fast and CHEAP. Bet this meal didn't even cost $2.00 per person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
VERY good. As written. I wasn't sure if Mustard Powder and Dry Mustard was the same, but I used Dry Mustard. This was a very good dish that we will use in our monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carri Villella Levitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very good! The only thing I left out was the mushrooms because my family does not like them. I did as a few other reviewers had done and used 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup mayo. It came out very tasty with a zing to it. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a hit with the family. I added some of the suggested ingredients as well as a splash of red hot sauce for a kick. Hubby was impressed with a new dish and really liked it. Picky 5 year old didn't like that I used noodles that were good for us, aka whole grain noodles, but he ate it anyhow! Thanks for a new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abesmomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
As written, it's GOOD, but not great. WORTH MAKING AGAIN WITH MINOR CHANGES!! I'm a garlic fan so I automatically doubled the garlic powder, otherwise following the recipe EXACTLY (using light sour cream & mayo). **UPDATE**: double the listed onion & seasonings (4x the listed garlic), add pepper & increase sour cream by 1/4c while decreasing mayoby 1/4 c. This seasons it better, gives more zing while keeping it creamy. Wonderful & easy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is really easy. It may not look wonderful, but it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States