Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The original recipe is bland. Instead of beef broth I used white cooking wine, I upped the sour cream to 3/4's cup and sour cream to 1/4 cup. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup, salt, pepper and thyme. I think what really made the difference was the wine. It's an okay recipe with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy Warm Comfort Food that fills you up! I read most of the other reviews and changed a few things. Doubled the amount of ground beef, decreased sour cream and mayo to 1/4 cup. Seasoned beef with salt pepper garlic onion and and a nice size dash of Cayanne (goes well with the sour cream and mayo) then instead of beef broth I added a 1/2 can of beef GRAVY and 1/2 cream mushroom soup for a thicker base. Wash Delishious with a little more flavor and thickness! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was just okay. We had dinner quick and easy. Noticed right away there is no salt and pepper so I added that, and I used fresh sauteed mushrooms which could have been a factor in making it so runny. Even after adding seasonings and more beef we felt there was something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
We usually use another AR stroganoff which uses cream cheese. Tonight, we were out of cream cheese, so we tried this recipe. It was very acceptable, although the sauce was thinner and less creamy. A very good back-up recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Betancourt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made the recipe as written, only adding cream of mushroom soup per other reviewers advice. There is some awful taste in every bite that I can't narrow down what it is? I didn't even buy the cheap mayonaise. A friend of mine came over just as I was finishing and I had her try the first bite. When she made an awful face I thought to myself.. that's kind of rude. Until I tried it... it really was that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valentine, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ashdown, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This recipe was all right - nothing exciting and leaning a little towards the bland side. I felt like there was too much mayo/sour cream mixture and not enough spice. The only change that I made to this recipe was to use fresh mushrooms instead of the canned. It was an easy recipe to make on a weeknight so that was one really good thing about it! However, I probably won't make this particular one again since there was a Stroganoff recipe that I tried a few months ago that my family liked much better. Oh, and it makes way more than four servings because there were three adults and one toddler eating this the first night and there were a lot of leftovers. So that at least cuts down on the amount of calories and fat if that concerns anyone wanting to make this. Thank you, Linda, for a quick and easy dinner though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I'm sorry but the recipie as written needs some help. First, ditch the mayo. All that will do is make your dish oily. I replace the mayo with heavy cream. Added about 2 tablespoons of worcester sauce, and a pinch of fresh oregano. It turned out great. Nice and creamy vs. watery and oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Recipe was fine in a pinch but was bland and not as creamy as I would like. I did not make any substitutes or changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Did not like this recipe. Mayo was overpowering. Easy enough. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipe was easy and delicious as promised. I also decreased mayo while increasing sour cream and added touch of worchestershire. Haven't had ground beef stroganoff since I was a child...my husband loved it and I loved making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States