Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Aylea
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a delicious basic recipe. Comfort food at it's best. As others suggested I did alter it. I added 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic and a tsp of worcestershire to 1 1/2lbs of ground beef and the diced onion, after browning. Also added a packet of chicken gravy mix, and a chicken oxo cube dissolved in a 1/2 cup of boiling water. I used a whole onion and a can of mushrooms (would prefer fresh but didn't have it). I omitted the mayo and mixed together in a separate bowl 1 cup of cream. 3/4 cup of sour cream, a can of cream of mushroom soup, and the dried mustard and garlic powder. I stirred that in, and only because the color was kinda off putting, added about 2 Tbsp of kitchen bouquet. I didn't add any salt as there's more than enough in the oxo/gravy packet. Did add pepper though. Simmered for about 10 mins on med/low heat then stirred in approx' 3 cups of cooked macaroni. Yummy! Made lots and would easily feed a family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I really played with the sauce to get it tasty with a good balance but it did not happen. It was bland and my family said it might be a good idea to delete from my recipe box??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Duggan Hale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My kids loved this and want me to keep this on the regular meal menu. My issue is that it is VERY bland. It needs some flavor. I added extra garlic and Worchester sauce, chives, parsley. I will still work on the flavor a bit more till I get it to my taste buds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Eating this now :) YUM everyone in my family LOVES it! I heeded everyone's advise and used a can of cream of mushroom soup also used fresh mushrooms we cooked with the beef and onions,used the squeezed garlic from a tube, and added a bit of beef broth just to thin it out a bit so it's like gravy. I made real mashed potatoes and OMG there is no way this is as good on pasta or rice as it is over a big helping of creamy buttery mashed potatoes :)My mom said this one is a keeper will be making it on a regular basis it's cheap and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Leave out the mayo. I love mayo dont get me wrong but its better w/o it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice to date. First time as written, the second replacing the mayo with sour cream. I much prefer it with the sour cream (but then I am not a big mayo fan). Virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is a good recipe, definitely comfort food, but I very highly recommend using fresh mushrooms! They make it SO much more flavorful than canned. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. I did add some cornstarch and water at the end because I wanted it a little thicker. I don't understand the reviewers who substituted condensed cream of mushroom soup. I wouldn't recommend it. Part of my whole reason for trying this was to get a little further away from pre-processed foods and find something closer to making it from scratch. The thing about using condensed soups is that every sauce ends up tasting kind of the same. I like that this has a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Excellent taste and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zasey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very tasty! A great quick dinner idea. Will definitely make it again. Only change I made was omitting the mustard powder because I didn't have any on hand. I did find it a little on the heavy side but otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States