Ground Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I have made stroganoff before and it wasn't nearly as good as this. That being said, I now know that I'm not a fan of this traditional dish. I just can't help but feel like I need to add more veggies and seasoning. The only change I made was to use more sour cream and no mayo. I'm glad to have had a more authentic recipe to try. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Lynn
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
We had no dry mustard so just used a smidge of prepared dijon. Very good, easy and tasty. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I used real mushrooms instead of the can. My husband loved it so much that he asked me to make another batch for his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was a popular meal in our home. I did make small changes, mainly using fresh mushroom and garlic. The resulting mixture needed a bit of salt, but this was a nice, quick, satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Didn't like the mayonnaise flavor so I added some A-1 as another reviewer recommended. I also used fresh pre-sliced mushrooms instead of canned and added the sour cream at the very end instead of with the mayo and broth. Overall quick and easy, but a little on the bland side, but you can adjust the seasonings to your own families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This recipe is quick and very tasty. I've made it twice now and used some of the other reviewer suggestions. I used 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 light mayo, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, increased the beef broth to 1 cup, increased the dry mustard to 1 tsp and added some worcestershire sauce. I left out the mushrooms because my girls probably wouldnt eat this with them. I cooked a 12oz bag of whole wheat egg noodles and added it right to the sauce! Thumbs up from my 3 little girls and my husband. Definitely will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We really like this recipe. I have made it several times, and it's always a hit. I use about a Tsp (or more) of Dijon mustard instead of the mustard powder, and I also use beefy mushroom soup instead of the beef broth. This is an easy recipe to play around with and alter based on what you have on hand, or personal preference. I have used onion powder or dried minced onion in the place of the chopped onion and minced garlic in the place of the garlic powder...it always comes out good. Not fancy, but a good, quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Quick, easy, delicious! Did not have mustard powder, so I just omitted it. Husband loved it - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyArndt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I thought it was an ok recipe although I ommitted the mayo and mushrooms, browned the beef in a large pan, drained fat, drained the beef further on paper towel (It was 85%) sauteed onion and 1clove minced garlic in butter in large pan. In a separate saucepan, made a white sauce with 2T. butter melted, whisked in 2T. flour until smooth and bubbly, then whisked in 1c. beef stock and 1c. milk, brought to simmer over med high heat. Once thickened I added it to the sauteed onion, garlic, browned beef. Also added 1/4 t. tarragon, 1T. Worchestershire, salt and pepper with 3/4c. sour cream--heat through, served over egg noodles. Kids and Hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
YUMMY! The whole family loved this recipe. I used 1 1/2lbs of ground beef, so I just increased the sour cream and the mayo to make more sauce. My kids HATE mushrooms, so I just chopped them up really fine, and put them in with the ground beef, and they never even knew that they were in there. Easy, fast and CHEAP. Bet this meal didn't even cost $2.00 per person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States